Fallen Angels

Front Cover
Orenda Books, Sep 25, 2020 - Fiction - 276 pages

Ever-dogged Bergen PI Varg Veum has to dig deep into his own past as he investigates the murder of a former classmate. Vintage, classic Nordic Noir from international bestselling author Gunnar Staalesen.

'Mature and captivating' Herald Scotland

'One of the finest Nordic novelists - in the tradition of Henning Menkell' Barry Forshaw, Independent

'Masterful pacing' Publishers Weekly

________________

When Bergen PI Varg Veum finds himself at the funeral of a former classmate on a sleet-grey December afternoon, he's unexpectedly reunited with his old friend Jakob – the once-famous lead singer of 1960s rock band The Harpers – and his estranged wife, Rebecca, Veum's first love.

Their rekindled friendship come to an abrupt end with a horrific murder, and Veum is forced to dig deep into his own adolescence and his darkest memories, to find a motive ... and a killer.

Tense, vivid and deeply unsettling, Fallen Angels is the spellbinding, award-winning thriller that secured Gunnar Staalesen's reputation as one of the world's foremost crime writers.

________________

Praise for Gunnar Staalesen

'Gunnar Staalesen is one of my very favourite Scandinavian authors. Operating out of Bergen in Norway, his private eye, Varg Veum, is a complex but engaging anti-hero. Varg means "wolf " in Norwegian, and this is a series with very sharp teeth' Ian Rankin

'The Norwegian Chandler' Jo Nesbě

'Not many books hook you in the first chapter – this one did, and never let go!' Mari Hannah

'Staalesen continually reminds us he is one of the finest of Nordic novelists' Financial Times

'Chilling and perilous results — all told in a pleasingly dry style' Sunday Times

'Staalesen does a masterful job of exposing the worst of Norwegian society in this highly disturbing entry' Publishers Weekly

'The Varg Veum series is more concerned with character and motivation than spectacle, and it's in the quieter scenes that the real drama lies' Herald Scotland

'Every inch the equal of his Nordic confreres Henning Mankell and Jo Nesbo' Independent

 

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Selected pages

Contents

28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35

9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
25
26
27
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
ABOUT THE AUTHOR ABOUT THE TRANSLATOR COPYRIGHT
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2020)

One of the fathers of Nordic Noir, Gunnar Staalesen published the first book in the Varg Veum series in 1977. He is now the author of over 20 titles, which have been published in 24 countries and sold over four million copies. Twelve film adaptations of his Varg Veum crime novels have appeared since 2007. Staalesen has won three Golden Pistols (including the Prize of Honour), Where Roses Never Die won the 2017 Petrona Award for Nordic Crime Fiction, and Big Sister was shortlisted in 2019.

Bibliographic information