Everything Happens for a Reason

Front Cover
Orenda Books Limited, Apr 10, 2021 - Fiction - 320 pages

When Rachel’s baby is stillborn, she becomes obsessed with the idea that saving a stranger’s life months earlier is to blame. An unforgettable, heart-wrenching, warm and funny debut...

'Emotionally engaging, witty, clever and wonderfully satisfying' Daily Express

‘A stunning debut ... a wise, moving, and thought-provoking novel’ Susan Elliot Wright, author of The Flight of Cornelia Blackwood

‘A heartbreaking, deeply moving and wonderfully witty tale, which celebrates all it means to be human’ Isabelle Broom, author of The Getaway

––––––––––––––

Mum-to-be Rachel did everything right, but it all went wrong. Her son, Luke, was stillborn and she finds herself on maternity leave without a baby, trying to make sense of her loss.

When a misguided well-wisher tells her that “everything happens for a reason”, she becomes obsessed with finding that reason, driven by grief and convinced that she is somehow to blame. She remembers that on the day she discovered her pregnancy, she’d stopped a man from jumping in front of a train, and she’s now certain that saving his life cost her the life of her son.

Desperate to find him, she enlists an unlikely ally in Lola, an Underground worker, and Lola’s seven-year-old daughter, Josephine, and eventually tracks him down, with completely unexpected results...

Both a heart-wrenchingly poignant portrait of grief and a gloriously uplifting and disarmingly funny story of a young woman’s determination, Everything Happens for a Reason is a bittersweet, life- affirming read and, quite simply, unforgettable.

––––––––––––––

‘A beautiful novel, bursting with raw emotional honesty and authenticity’ Gill Paul, author of The Secret Wife

‘So affecting. Profoundly sad. Funny. I just loved it’ Louise Beech, author of This Is How We Are Human

‘Darkly funny, yet poignant and moving ... Rachel's quest to find out if everything happens for a reason is both heartbreaking and heartwarming’ Anna Bell, author of In Case You Missed It

‘Some books teach you, others touch your soul, then there are books like this one that bury deep and create a home in your heart’ Emma-Claire Wilson, Glass House Magazine

‘A triumph ... a book of hope and ambition and making sense of the world, a tale of acting spontaneously, living in the moment and throwing caution to the wind’ Isabella May, author of Oh! What a Pavlova

‘An incredibly important and beautifully written book. Bittersweet and brave, it will keep you both laughing and crying until the last page’ Kate Ford, actress, Coronation Street

‘The perfect mix of clever, funny and intensely moving’ Cari Rosen, author of Secret Diary of a New Mum Aged 43 1⁄4

’A heart-wrenching, soul-lifting read about loss and redemption in unlikely places’ Eve Smith, author of The Waiting Rooms

‘Read it and weep but also, incredibly, find moments to laugh and to know there is life after death’ Julia Hobsbawm, author of The Simplicity Principle

‘Simultaneously devastating and hilarious’ Clare Allan, author of Poppy Shakespeare

’A memorable, poetic read ... The writing reminded me of Eleanor OliphantBecky Fleetwood, author of the Chroma series

‘Quirky yet insightful, bright yet wistful, amusing yet emotional ... full of contradictions that fuse into the most surprising, moving, and beautiful novel’ LoveReading

For fans of Jonas Jonasson, Matt Haig, Graeme Simsion and Rachel Joyce.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - nicx27 - LibraryThing

Everything happens for a reason. That's what Rachel is told when her baby is stillborn. But does it really? If so, what possible reason can there be for this terrible loss. Rachel clings onto the fact ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2021)

Everything Happens for a Reason is Katie’s first novel. She used to be a journalist and columnist at the Guardian and Observer, and started her career as a Reuters correspondent in Berlin and London.
The events in Everything Happens for a Reason are fiction, but the premise is loosely autobiographical. Katie’s son, Finn, was stillborn in 2010, and her character’s experience of grief and being on maternity leave without a baby is based on her own. And yes, someone did say to her ‘Everything happens for a reason’.
Katie grew up in Warwickshire and now lives in South London with her husband, children, dog, cat and stick insects. When she’s not writing or walking children and dogs, Katie loves baking, playing the piano, reading news and wishing she had written other people’s brilliant novels.

Bibliographic information