« PreviousContinue »
rail that is upon them, than supported underneath at the other. The pavement is of different coloured stone, brought from Harts Forest, in Germany.
The dome, which is 80 feet high from the pavement, is wrought in curious compartments in stucco. It is chiefly lighted by windows in the cylindric part; between which are tresses of fruits and flowers. In the circular part, without the piers, are the book-cases and reading-tables: the gallery above is appropriated to the same uses as the circular part beneath. Over the door is a very good statue of the Founder by Rysbrack. Over the entrance of one of the galleries is a bust of Gibbs, the Architect. The first stone of this superb building was laid May 17, A. D. 1737; and, being completely finished, it was opened on Thursday, April 13, 1749.
In this Library are a couple of superb Roman Candlesticks, of incomparable workmanship, given to the University by Sir Roger Newdigate, Bart. They were found in the ruins of the Emperor Adrian's palace at Tivoli, in the Campania Romana.
The Public are indebted to Dr. Radcliffe's Trustees for building and completely furnishing the PUBLIC INFIRMARY at the north side of the city, which is maintained and supported by voluntary contributions. An institution which in this place must be productive of very extea sive benefits, as, while it relieves the poor, it serves as a school for the Students in Physic. It was completed and opened for public use on St. Luke's day, 1770.
The munificent Trustees of Dr. Radcliffe have also built a magnificent ASTRONOMICAL OBSERVATORY,
in an advantageous situation, as it commands an extensive horizon, not incommoded by the town, which was originally designed by Henry Keene, but was afterwards improved and completed under the direction of that eminent artist, Mr. Wyat. The Eight Winds, after the manner of the Temple at Athens, are placed on the third story, and the Atlas on the top. It is built in an open field adjoining to the north side of the Infirmary; the land a benefaction of his Grace the Duke of Marlborough. The whole building is 175 feet in length; its breadth from north to south in the centre, exclusive of the portico, is 57 feet; and at each wing 24 feet.
Between the wings in the north front springs a semicircle, which includes the Hall with two adjacent Libraries on the ground-floor; the staircase and the Lecture-room with two adjoining rooms on the next story.
The third story consists of an octangular tower, the elevation of which, including the fi