Page images
PDF
EPUB

the old Chapel; two on the north side are the last Judgment, and two other on the south the Ascension. The rest are all of old glass, remarkable for the liveliness of the colours. This Chapel was begun in 1714, and completed in 1719

There is a passage between the Chapel and the Hall from the south to the north court, the walls of which carry a handsome cupola with eight Ionic columns, and all the proper ornaments of that order: the outside of the whole is a Doric building, and the inside of the Hall beautified with the same order: but the inside of the Chapel is entirely Corinthian, the ceiling of which is not inferior to the rest.

The Hall, built in the beginning of the last century, is 60 feet long, and 30 broad, with an arched roof of a suitable height. It is furnished with portraits of the Founder and principal Benefactors: to which has lately been added a picture of her present Majesty Queen Charlotte. It is extremely well illuminated, and has a chimney-piece of beautiful marble; and there is an opening from the gallery over the west cloister, originally designed for music; and hither strangers are frequently brought, who desire to see the Society at dinner.

The Library on the west side of the north court, which was completed in 1694, is about 123 feet in length; a noble building of the Corinthian Order, with a spacious cloister to the east, and the statue of the Founder, and principal Benefactors to the College, in niches to the west, and is adorned with stucco-work by the late Mr. Roberts. It has a splendid Orrery, and is furnished with a valuable collection of books and manuscripts in most languages and sciences. It is also ornamented with a cast in plaster of Paris of the Florentine Boar, presented by Sir Roger Newdigate.

Robert Egglesfield, a native of Cumberland, confessor to Queen Philippa, and Bachelor of Divinity in this University, having purchased several tenements in the parish of St. Peter's in the East, erected there a Collegiate Hall, probably by the encouragement of Queen Philippa, consort of King Edward III. giving it the name of Aula Scholarium Regince de Oxon.; and on the 18th of January, 1340, obtained the Royal Charter for incorporating the society of this Hall or College; by virtue whereof he constituted a Provost and twelve Fellows, ordering that the Provost should be chosen out of the Fellows, and be in holy orders; and that for the future the Fellows should be elected out of the counties of Cumberland and Westmorland.

The principal Benefactors^esides the Founder, were King Edward III. and his Queen Philippa; King Charles I. who gave this College three rectories and three vicarages in Hampshire; Sir Joseph Williamson, Knight, some time Fellow, who rebuilt part of the College, and left 60001. towards the finishing of it, besides a valuable library of books; Dr. Barlow, Bishop of Lincoln, Dr. William Lancaster, and Dr. Timothy Halton, Provosts. Some valuable Exhibitions have been since founded by Lady Margaret Hungerford, Sir Francis Bridgman, Mr. Tylney, Lady Elizabeth Hastings, and Dr. Holmes. Eight Fellowships, four Scholarships, and four Exhibitions have been established by the late Mr. Michell, of Richmond; and this institution is called the New Foundation in Queen's College. Several very liberal donations were received by the Society in the year 1779, for the purpose of rebuilding the west wing of the front quadrangle, which had been destroyed by fire; and in particular the sum of a thousand pounds from her present Majesty, Patroness of the College.

The members in this College are, a Provost, sixteen Fellows, two Chaplains, eight Taberdars, {so called from taberdam, a short gown which they formerly wore,) sixteen Scholars, two Clerks, and forty Exhibitioners; together with Mr.Michell's establishment, and a great number of Masters, Bachelors, Gentlemen Commoners, Commoners, and other Students; in all about 2oo.

They have here some extraordinary customs. They are called to dinner by the sound of a trumpet. On Christmas-day a boar's head is ushered very solemnly into the common hall or refectory, with a celebrated monkish song. And on New Year's day the Bursar of the College gives to each member a needle and thread, addressing him in these terms, Take this, and be thrifty. This practice of distributing the needle and thread, aiguille etfil, had, perhaps, in its origin, some allusion to the name of the Founder, Egglesfield.

Visitor. The Archbishop of York.

UNIVERSITY COLLEGE.

OPPOSITE to Queen's, on the south side of the High-street, stands University College, with an extensive front, more than 260 feet in length. It has two gateways, with a tower over each, at equal distances from the extremities of the building. That on the west leads into the old court, a handsome Gothic quadrangle, 100 feet square; and above the gateway are two statues; one on the outside, of Queen Anne; another within, of King James II. Above the other gateway on the outside is a statue of Queen Mary, daughter of James II. and another within, of Dr. John Radcliffe. This entrance leads into a smaller court of three sides, each about 80 feet in length, open to a garden on the south. The east and part of the north side are occupied by the lodgings of the Master.

On the south side of the western quadrangle stand the Chapel and Hall. That part of the building has lately undergone a considerable alteration, under the directing taste of Dr. Griffith, the present Master, by the lengthening of the windows, the addition of buttresses, battlements, and pinnacles, and the changing of the former clumsy centre into an elegant Gothic bow window, and pediment.

The windows of the Chapel are of fine old painted glass, done by Abraham Van Linge in 1641. The eastern window, by Henry Giles, a glass-painter of York, was given by Dr. Radcliffe in 1687. The ceiling, which was formerly of wood, having been removed for the purpose of repairing the timbers of the roof, has been replaced by a handsome Gothic groined ceiling. In the Chapel are some fine specimens of carving in wood by Gibbons, particularly on the screen, which is enriched with Corinthian pillars, and other architectural ornaments, and is justly entitled to attention both on account of its form, and the excellence of the work. The altar-piece is a copy of the Salvator Mundi, a celebrated painting of Carlo Dolce, burnt in wood and presented by the present Master. The Wainscot in the Ante-chapel has been removed, and an arch formed in the west end, which contains a fine monument, erected by his widow, to the memory of Sir William Jones, one of the Judges of the

« PreviousContinue »