Page images
PDF
EPUB

Supreme Court in Bengal, and formerly a Fellow of this Society. The bas-relief of this monument, which was executed by Flaxman, represents Sir Wm. Jones making the translation and forming the digest of Hindoo laws from the sacred books or Vedas, which the Bramins are reading before him. The Epitaph is surmounted by the Grecian and Hindoo Lyres and the Caduceus, the emblem of eloquence.

The Tigers' heads, by which the bas-relief is supported, are the emblems of Bengal.

The Hall, which was fitted up some years since in the Gothic style, has lately received considerable improvements, and is now one of the most beautiful rooms in Oxford.

In the Common Room is an excellent bust of King Alfred, the Founder of the College, executed by Wilton, from a model by Rysbrack, and presented to the College by the present Earl of Radnor, then Viscount Folkstone. The bust of the Founder stands between the portraits of King Henry IV. and Robert Dudley, Earl of Leicester, two Benefactors to the College, burnt in wood, and given to the Society, by Dr. Griffith.

No part of the buildings of this College can boast of any antiquity. The present spacious and uniform structure was begun in 1634, by the Rev. Charles Greenwood, formerly a Fellow. The work was carried on by Sir Simon Benet, and by the assistance of succeeding patrons the western quadrangle was finished in 1665. Dr. John Radcliffe gave by will 50001. for building the north and east sides of the other quadrangle, and also left his Yorkshire estate in trust to the Society, charged with the payment of 6001. to two travelling Fellows, students in Medicine, to whom he ordered apartments to be appropriated in that part of the building.

King Alfred, in the year 872, is usually supposed to have erected certain halls in Oxford, near, or on the spot, where this College stands, and to have given the students small pensions issuing from the Exchequer. But the actual Founder of this College appears to be William, Archdeacon of Durham, who purchased A. D. 1219 one of the old halls which stood near the spot, endowed it with land, and founded ten or more Fellowships for natives of the county of Durham, which were soon reduced to two. Succeeding Benefactors improved the revenues and buildings of the Society. Of these the most considerable are Walter Skirlaw, Bishop of Durham, who procured lands from King Henry IV. and founded three Fellowships for the dioceses of York and Durham: Henry Percy, Earl of Northumberland, Lord of the Honour of Cockermouth, in 1442 added three Fellowships for the dioceses of Durham, York, and Carlisle, with a preference to natives of the county of Northumberland: and Sir Simon Benet established four Fellowships and four Scholarships, to which all persons born in the province of Canterbury are eligible.

The present Society consists of a Master, twelve Fellows, and seventeen Scholars, with other Students, amounting in the whole to about 70.

Visitor. The King.

ALL SOULS COLLEGE.

THIS College is situated west of Queen's, and consists chiefly of two courts. 1. The old court is about 124 feet in length, and 72 in breadth, having the High-street on the south, and the Chapel at the north end of it. In this old quadrangle is a dial, contrived by that ingenious architect, Sir Christopher Wren, when Fellow of the College, which by the help of two half rays, and one whole one for every hour, shews to a minute what is the time, the minutes being marked on the sides of the rays, fifteen on each side, and divided in five by a different character..

2. Their grand court, situated behind the former, is a spacious and beautiful quadrangle, having the Library on the north, the Hall and Chapel on the south, the Cloister on the west,

[graphic]
« PreviousContinue »