« PreviousContinue »
to endow his College, and in his life-time erected the chapel and all the rest of the original buildings, which cost him 4545). and at his death gave to the Society the sums of 1341. 6s. 8d. and 100 marks.
The most considerable benefactors have been, Colonel Christopher Codrington, Governor of the Leeward Islands and Fellow of All Souls, already mentioned; George Clarke, LL. D.; the late Duke of Wharton; Doddington Greville, Esg.; Lieutenant General Stewart; and Sir Nathaniel Lloyd, who, at the time that he was Fellow of this College, was Head of a College in Cambridge. The Colonel bequeathed 60001. for building the noble Library already described, his own valuable study of books, and 40001. more to purchase new ones; and Dr. Clarke gave his beautiful house for the use of the Wardens successively, of the College. He also much auge mented the Chaplainships. :.
In this College are a Warden, forty Fellows, two Chaplains, and six Clerks and Choristers.
A very peculiar custom is the celebrating the Mallard night, every year on the 14th of January, in remembrance of an excessive large Mallard or Drake, supposed to have long ranged in a drain or sewer, where it was found at the digging for the foundation of the College. A very hu. morous account of this event was published many years ago by Dr. Buckler, Sub-Warden, prea tendedly from a manuscript of Thomas Walsingham, the historian and monk of St. Alban's. It is the cause of much mirth; for on the day, and in 'remembrance of the Mallard, is always sung a merry old song set to ancient music. , . Visitor. The Archbishop of Canterbury.
forms the west side of the Radcliffe square. It was founded in the year 1509, by the joint bene, faction of William Smith, Bishop of Lincoln, and Sir Richard Sutton, Knight, of Presbury in Cheshire. Over the gate are the arms of the latter. · The most probable account of the uncommon name of this College seems to be as follows. The Founders purchased from University College, for the site of their intended building, two ancient seats of learning, Brazén-nose and Little University Halls; the former of which, as well as one of the same name at Stamford, received its title from the circumstance of having a nose of brass affixed to the gate. It was with a view to this that, the Founders ordered their new seminary to be called the King's Hall and College of Brazen-nose : and a similar appendage is still conspicuous over the portal. Over the door of the Hall are two very ancient busts: the one of Alfred the Great, the first Founder, (deemed one of the best representations of that great monarch ;) the other of John Erigena, a Scotsman, the first lecturer in University Hall. They have been more than once engraved, and are said to have been found in digging for the foundation of the College.
The Hall is handsome and spacious, and adorned with some good portraits and paintings on glass of the two Founders. It stands on the south side of the first quadrangle; in the centre of which is a statue of Cain and Abel, given by Dr. Clarke of All Souls.
Through a passage on the left hand of the gate of the first quadrangle we enter the second, of which a cloister, with the Library over it, forms the east side; the Chapel the south : these are more modern structures, and are supposed to have been built in 1667, conformably with a plan given by Sir Christopher Wren.
The Library (a light pleasant room, ornamented with a most elegant ceiling, rebuilt by Wyat) contains a respectable collection of books, very commodiously arranged. The Chapel is distinguished by a neatness and simplicity becoming the house of God. If these may be considered as the parents of beauty, this edifice has very strong pretensions to it. The roof, which, being a frame of wood, is an admirable imitation of Gothic stone-work, and the altar, with its decorations, demand our attention. The east window, the gift of Principal Cawley, is enriched by painted glass, finely executed by Pearson in 1776, from drawings made by the late celebrated Mr. Mortimer. . In the Ante-chapel is an elegant monument to the memory of a late Principal, Dr. Shippen, whose uniform attention to the interests of his College are deservedly commemorated. The bust is supposed to give a striking resemblance of his countenance. An elegant house, connected with the College, and fronting the High-street, was erected in 1770 at a considerable expence, for the accommodation of the Principal. · The foundation of this College is for a Princi. pal, twenty Fellows, thirty-two Scholars, and fifteen Exhibitioners.
The number of independent members at present on the books is about 100.
Visitor. The Bishop of Lincoln.
HERTFORD COLLEGE is situated opposite to the gate of the Public Schools, consisting of one court. The College is intended to be erected in the form of a quadrangle, to consist of four angles and four intermediate buildings; each angle to consist of three stair-cases and fifteen single apartments; every
apartment to contain an outward room, a bed place, and a study. Of these the south-east: angle, and the Chapel in the south, the Principal's lodgings in the east, the Hall in the north, and the Gate-way (with the Library over it) in the west, are already finished, agreeable to the plan of the Oxford Almanack for the year 1740.
Hertford or Hart Hall, an ancient house of learning, was an appendant to Exeter College, but having received an endowment in part, was (at the request of Dr. Richard Newton, then Principal, who endowed the senior Fellowships) incorporated Sept. 3, 1740.
And, though it is now styled Hertford Colo lege, it may be called by the name of any other person, who will complete the endowment of it, or become the principal benefactor to it.
This College, according to its statutes, should consist of a Principal, two senior Fellows or Tutors, junior Fellows or Assistants, undergra duate Students, and four Scholars; but for some years has had neither Principal nor members.
Visitor. The Chancellor of the University.
NEW College is situated east of the Schools and the Theatre, and is separated from Queen's College only by a narrow lane. It is dedicated