« PreviousContinue »
526 feet in length, by which we enter the town from London. 3. High-Bridge, in the western suburb, over the Isis, consisting of three arches. 3. Folly-Bridge, as it is commonly called, in the southern suburb, on the same river, where formerly stood an arched entrance, over which was the celebrated Friar Bacon's Study; it consists of three arches, and is, like the rest, entirely built with stone. This is the entrance from Abingdon and various parts of Berkshire.
We must not here omit the many elegant and useful improvements that have taken place, in pursuance of an Act of Parliament obtained in the 11th year of his present Majesty.—The narrow and incommodious passage at East Gate has been opened, which renders this part equal to the magnificence of the High-Street; and in the year 1779 a new stone Bridge, at this entrance of the town, was erected at the expence of upwards of Eight Thousand Pounds.
Agreeably to the same act the North Gate, commonly called the Bocardo, and used for a prison, was taken down in 1771. This prison was memorable for a dungeon, called the Bishops' Hole, in which Cranmer, Latimer, and Ridley were confined in the reign of Mary, previously to their martyrdom before Balliol College. The door of this dungeon was purchased by Mr. Alderman Fletcher, who pre
sented it lately to the committee-room of the New Gaol, where it may now be viewed, with a suitable inscription.
In pursuance also of the same act of Parliament, on the north side of the High-Street, between St. Martin's and All-Saints' Churches, was erected the New General Market, from a plan furnished by Mr. Gwynn, 347 feet long, and 112 wide, equal to any thing of the kind in the kingdom.
The City of Oxford, with its suburbs and liberties, consists of fourteen parishes.
1. St. Mary's. || S. St. Mary Magdalen's.
3. St Martin's, or Carfax.
4. St. Aldate's, or St. Old's.
5. St. Ebb's.
6. St. Peter's in the Bailey.
7. St. Michael's. Only three of the Churches belonging to these parishes are worthy of observation, viz. St. Mary's, All-Saints, and St. Peter's in the East.
St. Mary's stands on the north side of the High-Street, and is the Church used by the University on Sundays and Holydays. It is well proportioned, and handsomely built in the Gothic style. The Porch is in a more modern taste; the benefaction of Dr. Morgan Owen in 1637, and built by Nicholas Stone, senior. The Church consists of three ailes, and a large chan
II 9. St. Peter's in the East
11. St. Giles's.
12. St. Thomas's.
13. St. John's.
14. St. Clement's.
eel, which is paved with black and white marble. The Vice-Chancellor sits at the west end of the middle aile, on a throne elevated some few steps; a little below which sit the two Proctors; on either hand the Heads of Houses and Doctors; below these the young Noblemen; and in the area, on benches, the Masters of Arts. At the west end also, with a return to the north and south ailes, are galleries for the Bachelors and Under-Graduates; and under the middle ones are seats for the Ladies. The tower and spire, which rises to the perpendicular height of 180 feet, is a noble and beautiful structure, and contains a ring of six large bells. The room on the north side of the chancel, lately repaired in the style of the rest of the Church, is now the Common Law School, where the Vinerian Professor reads his Lectures.
The Church of All-Saints, situated in the High-Street, is an elegant modern structure, much in the style of many of the new Churches in London. It is beautified, both within and without, with Corinthian pilasters, and finished with an attic story and balustrade. There is no pillar in the Church, though it is 72 feet long, 42 wide, and 50 high. The ceiling, altar, pulpit, &c. are finely executed. The steeple is remarkable in the modern manner. Its architect was Dr. Aldrich, formerly Dean of Christ Church.
The Church of St. Peter in the East, standing