« PreviousContinue »
two Scholarships for students from Staffordshire or Durham. Dr. Clarke founded six Fellowships and three Scholarships, with a preference to Clergymen's sons. And Mrs. Eaton, daughter to Dr. Eaton, Principal of Gloucester Hall, founded six Fellowships. Lady Holford gave two Exhibitions of 201. a year each, for Charter-house scholars, to be enjoyed eight years; and Mr. Kay 301. a year, as an Exhibition for a native of Yorkshire.
This house was formerly called Gloucester Hall, being a seminary for educating the novices of Gloucester Monastery. It was founded A. D. 1283, by John Giffard, Baron of Brimsfield. When suppressed at the Reformation, it was converted into a palace for the Bishop of Oxford; but ia 1559 was erected into an academical Hall, by Sir Thomas White, the Founder of St. John's College; in which state it continued till it received a charter of incorporation, and an endowment from Sir Thomas Cookes.
Here are a Provost, twenty-one Fellows, sixteen Scholars, &c. The whole number about 70.
Visitor. The Chancellor of the University,
THIS College is situated opposite Jesus College, the front whereof is 220 feet long; in the centre of which is a magnificent Gate and Tower. The composition of each front (viz. that towards the street and that towards the quadrangle) is a rustic basement, which forms the gateway; a plinth, whereupon are placed four pilasters of the Ionic order, supporting a semicircular pediment, in the area of which are the Founder's arms, on a shield adorned with festoons, finishing with a balustrade above all. This, with the beautiful arched roof of the gateway, is justly esteemed an elegant piece of workmanship. The building within chiefly consists of a large quadrangle, formed by the Hall, the Chapel, the Rector's Lodgings, and the Chambers of the Fellows and Scholars, and is regular and uniform.
The Gardens are neatly disposed; and, though within the town, have an airy and pleasant opening to the east, and a terrace, from whence we have a view of some of the finest buildings in the University.
The Chapel, which consists of two ailes, was built in 1624, principally at the expence of Dr. George Hakewill, Rector.
The Library is well furnished with books in the several arts and sciences; and a very valuable collection of Classics, given by Thomas Richards, Esq. and Joseph Sanford, B. D. The building was erected in 1778, from a plan given by the present Public Orator.
Walter Stapledon, Bishop of Exeter, Lord Treasurer of England, and Secretary of State to King Edward II. 1316, obtained a charter for founding a College where Hertford College now stands : but wanting room for the buildings he designed, he removed his Scholars to the present House, and gave it the name of Stapledon Hall, after his own name. He founded a Society consisting of thirteen, i. e. a Rector and twelve Fellows; one of whom, the Chaplain, to be appointed by the Dean and Chapter of Exeter ; eight to be elected out of the Archdeaconries of Exeter, Totnes, and Barnstaple, in Devonshire, and four from the Archdeaconry of Corn. wall.
Among the subsequent benefactors was Edmond Stafford, Bishop of Exeter, who in 1404 obtained leave to alter the name of this House, and settled two Fellowships for the diocese of Sarum. Sir William Petre in Queen Elizabeth's time obtained a new charter and statutes, founded eight Fellowships for such counties wherever he then had, or his heirs at any time after should have, estates; which by this time comprehends most of the counties in England. King Charles I. added one Fellowship for the islands of Jersey and Guernsey. And by Mrs. Shiers's benefaction, as completed and settled by Dr. Hugh Shortridge, two other Fellowships were added, confined to the counties of Hertford
and Surrey'; besides considerable augmentations to the revenues of the Society.
The present members are a Rector, twentyfive Fellows, one Scholar, who is Bible-Clerk, and two Exhibitioners. The whole number of members about 70.
Visitor. The Bishop of Exeter.
THE front of this College is beautified and improved by a very handsome rustic Gateway, and other additions.
In the first court, built in 1625, the Chapel on the north side, and Hall on the west, are neat well-proportioned rooms, the latter having been much improved by the addition of a ceiling and other ornaments, by the late Mr. Roberts.
The inner court, begun in 1640, and completed in 1676, has three sides uniformly and neatly built, (the Hall before mentioned making the fourth side of this quadrangle,) and on the west side of it, over the Common Room, &c. is a spacious well-furnished Library, built by Sir Leoline Jenkyns in 1677.
In the Hall is a fine picture of King Charles I. at full length, by Vandyke; and portraits of Queen Elizabeth, Charles II, Sir Eubule Thel, wall, when a child, with his mother, Sir Leoline Jenkins, &c.
Other curiosities in this Çollege are, 1. a most magnificent piece of Plate, the gift of the late Sir Watkin Williams Wynn, Bart, for the use of the Fellows' Cominon Room. It contains ten gallons, and weighs two hundred and seventyeight ounces. And, 2. the Statutes of the College, beautifully written upon vellum, by the late Mr. Parry of Shipston upon Stour, formerly Fellow of this College.
This College was founded by Queen Elizabeth, by charter bearing date the 27th of June, 1571, for a Principal, eight Fellows, and eight Scholars. The Queen, at the request of Hugh Price, LL. D. a native of Brecknock, and Treasurer of the Church of St. David's, granted her royal charter of foundation, and a certain religious house or cell, called Whitehall, (which before the dissolution of monasteries belonged to the Priory of St. Frideswide,) for the site of the College, together with such timber and other materials as should be wanting for the building of it, out of her Majesty's forests of Shotover and Stowe.
The first endowment of this College was by Dr. Hugh Price, above mentioned, who, by deed bearing date the last day of the said month of June, 1571, conveyed to the College by the style and title of The Principal, Fellows, and Scholars