« PreviousContinue »
county ads, mesaten Eliza
of Jesus College, within the City and University of Oxford, of Queen Elizabeth's Foundation, certain lands, messuages, and tenements in the county of Brecknock, of the value of about 1601. per annum, for the maintenance and support of a Principal, eight Fellows, and eight Scholars, being the number limited in the original charter of foundation; though by charters since granted at different times, and the munificence of subsequent benefactors, the number of Fellows and Scholars is now more than doubled.
The principal benefactors after Dr. Hugh Price, who may in some measure be called the Founder of this originally little Society, were Sir Eubule Thelwall, Knt. Principal of the College, who, besides his contributions towards the buildings, carried on under his direction, increased the number of Fellows from eight to sixteen; Dr. Francis Mansell, who was thrice Principal; Sir Leoline Jenkins, also Principal; King Charles I.; Dr. Griffith Lloyd; and many. others.
The Society now consists of a Principal, nineteen Fellows, and eighteen Scholars, besides a considerable number of Exhibitioners; in all 80 or 90.
Visitor. The Earl of Pembroke.
is situated between All-Saints Church and Exe. ter College. It consists of two courts. The first, which we enter under a tower, is formed by the Rector's Lodgings on the south-east angle, the Library and Common Room on the north, and Refectory on the east, the sides of which are 80 feet each. The inner or south court has also a gate into the street; and is a square likewise, but less than the other, being 70 feet each · way.
The Hall is a handsome edifice, about 40 feet long, 25 broad, and of a proportionable height. It was new wainscotted in 1701, chiefly by the benefaction of the late Lord Crewe, Bishop of Durham, whose arms are placed over the middle of the screen, as are those of the rest of the contributors over other parts of the wainscot.
The Library is a very neat room in the north side of the outer court, over the Common Room. It has been new fitted up, sashed, and wainscotted, at the expence of Sir Nathaniel Lloyd, Knt. some time Commoner of this College, and afterwards Fellow of All Souls. It is well furnished with books, and there are in it some ancient and valuable manuscripts.
There is a good half-length picture of Bishop Crewe at the west end of it, and another of Sir Nathaniel Lloyd.
But what is most taken notice of in this College is their Chapel, which is situated on the south side of the inner court. The screen of it is of cedar, finely carved, and is mentioned by Dr. Plott as a great curiosity. The windows are entirely of painted glass, of which there is a large one over the altar, and four lesser on each side. In those of the south side are the figures of the Twelve Apostles, three in each window, as large as life. In the first window which is next the altar are Peter, Andrew, and James the Greater: in the 2d, John, Philip, and Bartholomew: in the 3d, Matthew, Thomas, and James the Less : in the 4th, Jude, Simon, and Matthias. . On the other side, over against these, are the figures of twelve of the Prophets. In the first window, or next to the altar, are David, Daniel, and Elijah: in the 2d, Isaiah, Jeremiah, and Ezekiel : in the 3d, Amos, Zechariah, and Malachi : in the 4th, Elisha, Jonah, and Obadiah.
The east window, which is over the altar, contains the Types and Antitypes of our Saviour. It is divided into six partitions. In the first, reckoning from the north, is the Creation of Man in Paradise; and over it the Nativity of our Saviour: in the 2d, the Passing of the Israelites through the Red Sea; and over it our Saviour's Baptism : in the 3d, the Jewish Passover; and over it the Institution of the Lord's Supper: in the 4th, the Elevation of the Brazen · Serpent in the Wilderness; and over it our Sa
viour's Crucifixion : in the 5th, Jonas delivered out of the Whale's Belly; and over it our Saviour's Resurrection : in the 6th, Elijah going to Heaven in the fiery Chariot; and over it our Saviour's Ascension.
The ceiling, which is of cedar, is embellished with the Arms of the Founders, and the principal Benefactors; intermixed with Chernbim, palm-branches, festoons, &c. beatifully painted and gilt. This Chapel was built in 1630, by Dr. John Williams, at that time Bishop of Lincoln, and afterwards Archbishop of York.
This College was , first founded by Richard Flemming, who was born of a good family in Yorkshire. He was educated in this University, of which he was two years Proctor; being then Fellow of University College. In 1420, he was made Bishop of Lincoln by King Henry V. and died in 1431. He obtained the charter of incorporation of King Henry VI. in the sixth year of his reign; and in 1429 established a College, consisting of a Rector and seven Fellows, to whom he appropriated stipends.
In the year 1478, Thomas Scott, alias Rotherhamn, then Bishop of Lincoln, considering the im. perfect state of this foundation, obtained a new charter of King Edward IV. by virtue whereof he added five other Fellowships to the seven be
fore founded, annexed to the College two Rectories, and gave them a body of statutes, in which he limits the choice of the Fellows to the dioceses of Lincoln and York, all except one, whom he would have to be of the diocese of Wells.
But a greater benefactor to this College was the Right Honourable Nathaniel Lord Crewe, late Bishop of Durham, who being present in the year 1717, after contributing liberally to the buildings which were then carrying on at Christ Church, Queen's, Worcester, and All Souls Colleges, and to the finishing of All Saints Church, settled by way of a rent-charge, free from all deductions whatsoever, issuing out of his manors in Northumberland and Durham, twelve Exhibitions of 20l. per annum each, for Commoners of this College, whom he would have to be the sons of Gentlemen; and made a considerable augmentation to the annual stipends of the Rector, Fellows, Scholars, Bible-Clerk, and the Chaplains of the four appropriated Churches.
The last benefactors were, Dr. Marshal, Rector, and the late Dr. Richard Hutchins, Rector, who died in 1781, and augmented the incomes of the Scholars and Exhibitioners.
The members of this College are, a Rector, twelve Fellows, a Bible Clerk, thirteen Exhibitioners, and eight Scholars.
Visitor. The Bishop of Lincoln.