Sound and Light: La Monte Young and Marian Zazeela

Front Cover
William Duckworth, Richard Fleming
Associated University Presse, 2009 - Art - 231 pages
0 Reviews
This book is a collection of essays and original material that introduces the avant-garde artist-collaborators, La Monte Young and Marian Zazeela to those unfamiliar with their life and art, as well as providing the more acquainted readers with new and useful insights and analyses of the fundamental issues in their life and work. The book explores the recurring themes that have influenced Young's minimalist music and Zazeela's ongoing engagement with the use of light in art. These themes include the importance of nature and its natural shapes and sounds, the importance of mathematics and organized tuning systems based on natural harmonics, enhanced attention spans and increased sensitivity to differences within apparent sameness, extensions of time, and alterations of space. Essays by Terry Riley, John Schaefer, Henry Flynt, Christine Christer Hennix, Mitchell Clark, Kyle Gann, Ben Neill, and Robert Palmer are included. Young and Zazeela contribute to the book with original text materials that focus on continuous sound and light environments.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


La Monte and Marian 1967
Who Is La Monte Young?
La Monte Young in New York 196062
The Trinity of Eternal Music
The Lightworks of Marian Zazeela
Language and Light in Marian Zazeelas Art
Some Correspondences between Bai Juyis Qin and La Monte Youngs Composition 1960 5
Pure Resonance
La Monte Young and The Forever Bad Blues Band
Time Light Symmetry
The Romantic Symmetry over a 60 cycle base from The Symmetries in Prime Time from 144 to 112 with 119 89 I 30 NYC
words not words
The Soul of the Word
Ornamental Lightyears Tracery
Notes on Contributors

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2009)

An internationally known composer, acclaimed teacher of American music, and the founder of Postminimalism, William Duckworth has written more than 200 works, including the well-known Time Curve Preludes for piano. In addition to numerous teaching awards, Rolling Stone magazine called his teaching "hip, bright and innovative." Duckworth has been honored by the American Music Society as one of Six Master Teachers in America. Additionally, Cathedral, co-created with Nora Farrell and online since 1997, is one of the first interactive works of music and art on the Web. Duckworth's recent honors include the 2001 ASCAP-Deems Taylor Internet Award and the 2002 Award in Music from the Foundation for Contemporary Arts.

Richard Fleming is a teacher of philosophy and humanities. He has received numerous teaching-excellence awards. Recent teaching-seminars include: "Reading the "Philosophical Investigations"-Remark by Remark," Duke University, 2008-2009; "Cage: Experimentation, Chance, Silence, Anarchism," Fusion Art Exchange, New York, 2007-2008. His writings on ordinary language philosophy include: "The State of Philosophy" (1993) and "First Word Philosophy" (2004).

Bibliographic information