Forgotten Life

Front Cover
E-Reads, Aug 2, 2012 - Fiction - 359 pages
5 Reviews
Winner of two Hugo Awards, one Nebula Award, and named a Grand Master by the Science Fiction Writers of America, Brian W. Aldiss has, for over fifty years, continued to challenge readers' minds with literate, thought-provoking, and inventive science fiction. Now, E-Reads is proud to make available in eBook format the classic works of Aldiss. Now with a New Introduction by the Author! FORGOTTEN LIFE Book Two of the Squire Quartet. Analyst Clement Winters is trying to write a biography of his recently deceased older brother Joseph. Through the writings Joseph left behind -- letters, diaries, notes and confessions -- Clement realizes how little he actually knows his brother and how vastly his perception of him differs from reality. As Clement tries to make sense of the life of his deceased sibling, he uncovers "little dark corners" of his family history and even his own life. "Brian Aldiss has turned from science fiction to the regular novel, with triumphant success." - Anthony Burgess E-Reads titles from Brian W. Aldiss: Helliconia Spring; Helliconia Summer; Helliconia Winter; Greybeard; Earthworks; Galaxies Like Grains of Sand; Cryptozoic!; The Shape of Further Things; The Dark Light Years; Barefoot in the Head; and The Squire Quartet, including Life in the West; Forgotten Life; Remembrance Day; and Somewhere East of Life.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Forgotten Life (The Squire Quartet #2)

User Review  - Goodreads

Book 2 of the Squire Quartet. Another troubled marriage tale. Read full review

Review: Forgotten Life (The Squire Quartet #2)

User Review  - Anthony Faber - Goodreads

Book 2 of the Squire Quartet. Another troubled marriage tale. Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2012)

Brian W. Aldiss was born in Norfolk, England in 1925. Over a long and distinguished writing career, he has published award-winning science fiction (two Hugo Awards, a Nebula Award and the John W. Campbell Memorial Award), bestselling popular fiction including the three-volume Horatio Stubbs saga and the four-volume The Squire Quartet, experimental fiction such as The Report on Probability A and Barefoot in the Head and many other iconic and pioneering works including the Helliconia Trilogy. He has edited many successful anthologies and has published ground-breaking non-fiction including a magisterial history of science fiction (Billion Year Spree later revised and expanded as Trillion Year Spree. Among his many short stories, perhaps the most famous is ýSuper-Toys Last All Summer Longţ which was adapted for film by Stanley Kubrick and produced and directed after KubrickÝs death by Steven Spielberg as A.I. Artificial Intelligence.

Bibliographic information