Page images
PDF
EPUB
[ocr errors]
[graphic][merged small]

EVERY citizen being interested in the welfare of the

metropolis, the limits of his sincerity with respect to the community of which he is a member, are ascertained by the concern he takes in the collective state of its prosperity or improvement.

We have hitherto, we trust with success, traced out four Routes in the eastern quarters of the city of London, properly so called ; and described, with some degree of precision, various sources of riches in constant accumulation throughout the routes we have taken, whether attached to the circulation at the Royal Exchange, the East India House, Custom House, or other marts of commerce.

The portions westward of the Royal Exchange will next engage our attention; and we doubt not, by dint of perseverance, to accomplish an undertaking commenced with resolution, and forwarded by assiduity. It is not just for compilers to analyze their own digested materials; therefore, forbearing to say too much in reference to the merits of this work, we proceed without further interruption in the Fifth Route.

VOL. II. No. 50.

A 2

FIFTH

FIFTH ROUTE From the Royal Exchange, through Bartholomew Lane,

Throg morton Street, dustin Friars, Winchester Street, to London IV all, and Fore Street; hence to Coleman Street, Old Jewry, and the Poultry, to the Bank of England.

OPPOSITE the north door of the Royal Exchange is Bartholomew Lane; so called from the parish church of

ST. BARTHOLOMEW THE LITTLE.

[graphic][subsumed]

year 1438.

THE earliest account of this church is, that in the reign of Edward III. Richard De Plessis, archdeacon of Col. chester, and dean of the 'Arches, founded a chantry here for the benefit of his soul. He died in 1361.

Thomas Pyke, alderman, with the assistance of Nicholas Yoo, one of the sheriffs, new built this church about the

Margery, the wife of Sir John Lepington, and daughter of Sir John Fray, founded a chantry here, 21 Edw. IV. Sir William Capell, mayor, added a chapel on the south side, in the year 1509. And James Wilford, , citizen and taylor, one of the sheriffs, anno 1499, appointed a doctor in divinity to preach a sermon on the subject of Christ's passion every Good Friday.

This church was consumed by fire in 1666, and rebuilt in 1679.

As

As to the nature of the building, order, and ornament: the building is supported by columns, and has large arches of the Tuscan order; the key-pieces of which have each a seraphim. The roof is flat, divided into quadranglęs or pannels, with fret-work; and that part over the chancel is adorned with cherubims.

The body of the chureh is handsomely wainscoted; and there are three fine door cases on the north, south, and west sides, the pilasters, entablature, and pediments of which are of the Corinthian order, adorned with cherubims, shields, festoons, &c. that toward the south being particu: larly spacious and elegant.

The pews are also regular and convenient; and in the gallery at the west end is a large fine toned organ.

The altar-piece consists of four columns of the Corinthian order; between the two middle columns are the Commandments in gold upon black, over which is exhibited a spacious radiance painted on the figure of a sacrificed lamb. skin*. The radiance is placed between two gilt cheru bims, above which is an open pediment, and the arms of England finely carved. Between the Commandments are painted the portraits of Moses and Aaron, with the Lord's Prayer and Creed. This altar-piece is adorned with doves, palm branches, lamps, cartouches, shields, festoons, &c. &c. finely carved in Norway oak, and inclosed with a double

rail.

The pulpit is also of the same wood carved and veneered, with enrichments of cherubims, vases, and an imperial crown

The onter door fronting Bartholomew Lane is adorned with a cherub, and a large festoon of fresco work.

This church has a tower, the top of which, instead of pinnacles, a spire, or turrets, is crowned with arches, supported by Corinthian columns.

* Expressing, that as by the Levitical law the priest was to have the skin of the lamb offered; so that here placed, is to demonstrate, that our high priest Christ Jesus, the lamb of God, hath offered himself a sacrifice, of which that under the law was only a type.

The

The length of the building is seventy-eight feet, breadth sixty, and altitude forty-one, and that of the tower is about ninety feet: it is of stone, and the roof of the church covered with lead.

Among the MONUMENTS mentioned by Stow were the following:

J. Wilford, Merchant Taylor, alderman, 1544 ; Sir James Wilford, anno 1550; and Sir Geo. Barne, mayor, 1552.

On a fair plated stone on the ground in the chancel, that which follows:

In Obitum Rererendissimi Patris
MILANIS COVERDALE*. Ogroasticon.
Hic tandem requiemque ferens finemg; laborum,

Ossa COVERDALI mortua Tumbus habet,
Oroniæ qui Præsul erat dignissimus olim,

Insignia vitæ l'ir probitate succ.
Octoginta annos grundevus ririt, & nullum

Indigni passus sapius erilium.
Sic dimilti variis jactabam casibus, ista

Excepitur gremio terra benigna sua.
On a plated stone in the chancel :

Here lyeth the Body of John Dent, Citizen and Merchant of London, born at Holloughton in Leicestershire, and free of the Salters, Spanish, and Muscovy Companies; he was chosen Sheriff of London, and Alderman, and fined for the same; his last Fine was 1000 Marks toward the Repair of Christ's Hospital in Lon. don. He died Dec. 10, 1595. Aged 63.

Here lyeth Richard Croshaw, some time master of the company of Goldsmiths, and deputy of this ward. He was very liberal to the poor, and in the time of the great Plague, 1625, neglecting his own safety, he abode constantly in this city, to pro

Dr. Miles Coverdale, was a native of Yorkshire, and an Augusrine friar, but conforming to the Reformation, was appointed bishop of Exeter by Edward VI. August 30, 1551. Upon the accession of Queen Mary I. he was deprived of his bishopric, and imprisoned; whence he was delivered at the importunate request of the king of Denmark: he was afterwards a fugitive in Germany, and returned to England at the commencement of the reign of Queen Elizabeth; he did not, however, resume his episcopal functions, but lived retired in London, to a great age, and was buried in this church,

« PreviousContinue »