« PreviousContinue »
On the west end, and within one hundred feet of the south end of this street, is the parochial church of
THIS is a church of a very early foundation, and its pasi tronage was in the dean and chapter of St. Paul's between the years 1171 and 1181; who granted this chapel,* as then called, as an appendage to St. Olave Jewry, to the prior and convent of Butley, in whose gift it continued till the suppression of that convent, when it fell to the crown; and the rectory and parish church, and the advowson of the vicarage, were granted by queen Elizabeth to one Thomas Paskins and others; and again in 1590, to William Daniel, serjeant at law, (afterwards Sir William Daniel, one of the justices of the common-pleas) and other parishioners of Coleman Street parish, to hold this impropriate rectory in fee-farm of the crown; the parishioners have continued patrons of this vicarage ever since.
Stow writes, but does not produce sufficient authority for the fact, ihat this church was some time a synagogue of the Jews, then a parish church, and afterwards a chapel to Si. Olave in the Jewij; and was again made a parish church in the 7 Edward IV. But he certainly was mistaken, for it appears, that this church, or chapel, was made parochial and a vicarage ordained and endowed by Thomas Kemp, bishop of London, with 111. per annum, in 35 Henry VI. which was ten years sooner. Necuc. Reper. page 537.
This church sharing the common fate in the dreadful fire of London in 1666, the present structure was erected in its stead about four years after. It is a plain, neat, and solid building, strengthened with rustic at the corners, and enlightened by one series of large windows, with a handsome cornice, and one of the broadest ceilings and roofs that can be seen without a pillar to support it. The steeple is a square tower, crowned with a lantern, which has four faces, and incloses the sacring-bell, to call the parishioners to prayers, read twice here every day, for which the parish pays the vicar 201. In this steeple are eight bells.
The front of the church is adorned with a cornice. Within, it is well wainscotted and pewed, has a handsome pulpit neatly carved, and an altar-piece adorned with the king's arms, carved, gilt, and depicted, a black and white marble foot-piece to the communion-table, inclosed with a neat rail and banister, and at the west end is a commodious wainscot gallery, containing a good organ.
In this church lies the body of ANTHONY MUNDAY, who continued and improved Stow's Survey of London; on whose monument is the following inscription :
“ To the memory of that antient servant to the city with his pen in divers employments, especially the Survey of London, master Anthony Munday, citizen and draper of London.
He that bath many an antient tomb-stone read,
On the north side is the green church.yard; on the south is a large pavement, that covers a burial vault the whole length of the church; to which pavement is an ascent by scveral steps, through a gate, over which is cut in stone a capital representation of the General Resurrection.
The advowson is in the parishioners that pay to church
Among the eminent vicars of this church, occurs JOHN DAVENPORT, born in Coventry; having been sent in 1613 to Oxford, he pursued his studies in divinity with all the rigidity of Puritanism; having left the university without a degree, he retired to London, became a famous Puritan preacher, and was appointed by this parish to be their vicar. In 1625 he returned to Oxford, and performed his exercise to obtain his degree of batchelor of divinity, and soon after returned again to London, where he was highly esteemed as a popular preacher. In 1633 he resigned this living, under pretence of opposition from the prelates, because he scrupled at some of their ceremonies; and then retired to Amsterdam. In that city he endeavoured to be appointed to the English congregation; but was opposed, on the ground that he did not agree relating to baptism. He returned to Eng. land at the commencement of the Great Rebellion; but finding that the humour of the times was inconsistent with his principles, he accepted an invitation from Mr. John Cotton, of New England, and became pastor of Newhaven, in that colony. Here he continued in great estcem till he died, at Boston, 1669, leaving behind him an extraordinary character for a virtuous and pious life. His successor, JOHN GOODWIN, after having been ejected by the parliament, had a private meeting house in this parish at the time of the re. storation; and being dissatisfied with the terms of the Uni. formity Act, lived and died a non-conformist. says Dr, Calamy, “a man by himself; was against every man, and had every man almost against him. He was very warm and eager in whatsoever be engaged. He had a clear head, a fluent tongue, a penetrating spirit, and a marvellous faculty in descanting on Scripture; and with all his faults,
" He was,
must be owned to have been a considerablc inani by tluosc who will take the pains to peruse his writings.”
Coleman Street, though respectable in itself, is surrounded by narrow and inconvenient alleys; the only place of consideration is King's Arms Yard, which having been previously an inn and stables, before the fire, was, after that calamity, converted into spacious and elegant tenements, and continues to be at present the residence of considerable merchants.
LOTHBURY, Lothbery, Lathbery, Loadbury, or Loþingber, it seems was so called front a court of antient time kept in this place. · Lode in Junius's Etymologicon, in the old English implied to lead. LODEBURY might therefore with great propriety be so called as being the first considerable mansion from Moorgate.
In Stow's time it was inhabited by founders that cast candlesticks, chafing-dishes, spice-mortars, and such like copper or latten works.
Ncar the farthest. northern extremity of this street is TOKENHOUSE YARD), so named from an old house which was an office for the delivery of tradesmen's farthings or tokens. .. It is worthy of observation, that while copper money was in Greece of very antient date, and in Rome two centuries older than silver, yet in almost all the nations of modern Europe it arose a thousand years later than silver. The Saxons were the first who gave the first form of the penny, for which they were palpably indebted to the Roman Denarius. The penny was divided by a cross, and being commonly cut through the limbs of the cross, each quarter supplied the small change of the farthing; the farthing of those early times was, however, of nearly the intrinsic value of a modern penny.
The copper coinage was unauthorized, with very few exceptions, till the year 1672. The known aversion of queen Elizabeth, and of the nation to a copper coinage, arose from the circulation of counterfeit money, called Black Money, t *lich being always of copper, was mixed or washed with about a fifth part silver. When it is considered, therefore, that the base money was always of copper, it is no wonder that the idea of a copper coinage should be confounded with that of an imposition of authorized bad money.
which * Account of ejected or silenced Ministers, II. p. 53.
+ There were two kinds of Black Money, the counterfeit, intended by forgers to pass for silver, and the authorized money of Billon. Black
Her brother Edward VI. had been the last prince under thom farthings could possibly be coined of silver, the metal having increased in its value; and though it is known from records that he did coin farthings, not one of them is to be found. The diminutive size even of the silver halfpenny, though continued down to the time of the Commonwealth, Kas of extreme inconvenience. Hence, in the reign of Eli. zabeth, there being no state-farthings, several cities struck tokens, which were confined to the use of their respective inhabitants, till they were called in by order of government.
In the city of London this traffic of coinage was very considerable; and it appears that no less than three thousand tradesmen and others coined tokens, upon returning which to the issuer, he gave current coin or value, as desired.
This practice had gotten to such an extent in 1594, that government were compelled to entertain serious thoughts of a copper coinage. A small copper coin was struck, about the size of a silver twopence, with the queen's monogram on one side, and a rose on the other: the running legend on both sides being “ The pledge of- a halfpenny;” but the queen not being able to resign her fixed aversion to copper coinage, the scheme fell to the ground.
During the year 1609, Sir Robert Cotton wrote a tract intituled “ How the Kings of England have supported and repaired their Estates;" in which this passage occurs:
“ The benefit to the king will easily fall out, if he restrain retailers of victual and small wares from using their own tokens, for, in and about London, there are above three thou
money, or Billon, was struck in the mints of the English dominions in France, by command of the kings of England, for the use of their French subjects; but black money and copper money were very different The name arose, no doubt, from contradiction to white money, a name given to pure silver, which it was made to imitate.
Vol. III. No. 52,