Page images
PDF
EPUB

ceed to state that this, as one of the foundations by the for. mer monarch, afterwards was incorporated by the name of “ The Hospital of the Mayor, Commonalty, and Citizens of London, Governors for the Poor, called Little St. Bartholo. mew's, near West Smithfield.”

Here all indigent persons, maimed by accident, are taken in at all hours of the day and night, without previous recommendation. The diseased are received only on petition, signed by a governor. There are besides always a number of out-patients relieved with medical aid from the funds of the charity

This structure was conimenced by Gibbs, in the year 1730, Sir Richard Brocas, Knight, being lord mayor, and president of the hospital.

It appears that though the fabric then standing, wholly escaped the great fire, yet, a great part of its revenues being within the city, the charity became a considerable sufferer; but through the prudential care of the governors, the diligence of the physicians and surgeons, aided by the liberal supplies from various benefactors, the hospital was soon renewed in its form, and recovered its former consideration. It is at present one of the most extensive charities in the world.

“How grateful" says a modern writer, “ is the thought, that in this magnificent building, hundreds of beds wait for the reception of the miserable, and that eminent physicians, excellent surgeons, and careful nurses, are ready to admininister all the relief human aid can afford. May this institution flourish through all the tempests of politics, and, if it cannot endure for ever, may it at least survive as many ages to come as have already past since its original foundation."*

The exterior of the hospital towards the street consists of the portal to Giltspur Street, which is a very good piece of architecture, of the Doric order, with a large gate and foot. way on cach side and two round windows: the basement is rustic, and four pillars support the entablature and pediment. In the center are two plain, and a handsome Venetian window; over them a circular and two attic windows. In the tympanum are well sculptured enrichments.

OR * Malcolm's Lond. Redivivus,

On passing the gate, a row of modern good built houses lead to a large square, surrounded by the four sides of the building, each of which consists of a basement, twelve rustic windows, and one arched door ; quoins at the corners. Two stories above of the Doric order, with a cornice balustrade and vase.

On entering the great court the earth slopes from the centre, and an excellent pavement surrounds the whole *.

The north portal faces Smithfield ; an entrance to the extensive buikling just described, appears tco diminutive ; but independently it is very excellent. The basement is rustic, through which is a very large arch. Over the key stone stands on a pedestal, a good figure of Henry Vill. in a niche, guarded by two pillars on each side, of the Corinthian order ; above is a severed circular pediment, on which recline two emblematic human figures, descriptive of the nature of the charity.

The pilasters supporting the pediment, &c. are fonic, with festoons suspended from the volutes.

Under the grand pediment is a clock, with several windows and other tasteful ornaments. The tympanum is ornamented with the arms of England.

The side of the grand pile, next Smithfield, is well worthy of notice. The staircase is a monument of the talents and liberality of HOGARTH, being painted by that great and original artist, at his own expence. The principal subjca's are, The Good SAMARITAN, and The Pool of BETHESDA. In another part is RAHERE laying the foundation stone of the original hospital; a sick man carried on a bier, attended by monks, &c.

The Hall is at the head of the staircase. This is a grand and spacious apartment, and contains portraits of HENRY VIII. CHARLES II. and a fine, full length of the famous Dr. RADCLIFFE, founder of the library at Oxford, He certainly merits the compliment of being placed here; for he left to this hospital 5001. per annum, for the im

* On digging the foundation in one of the sides in 1736, many silver coins were found at the depth of thirty feet.

provement

provement of the diet; and 1001. per annum to purchase linen. A portrait of St. BARTHOLOMEW fills the space over the chimney piece; and in the centre window is exhibited, in stained glass, HENRY VIII. delivering the charter to the lord mayor; he is attended by prince Arthur, and two noblemen with white wands, &c. Here is a fine portrait of PERCIVAL Port, Esq. many years an eminent surgeon of this hospital, painted by Sir Joshua Reynolds.

Belonging to the hospital are three physicians of the highest respectability for integrity and practice; three skilful* surgeons, an apothecary, to provide and prepare what the phy. sicians direct : and the diseased are duly visited by them in their wards, where they are lodged, every morning and cvening, as there is need; every one having a bed to bimself; and, by the care of the matrons, the wards are always kept clean and neat.

This hospital, from the time of its incorporation, began to flourish under the government of the lord mayor, four aldermen, and eight commoners * : who had under them an hospitaller, renter-clerks, butler, porter, matron, twelve sisters, and eight beadles; besides three surgeons in wages, and a chaplain.

The president always a senior alderman. Purveyors four, two aldermen and two commoners. Almoners four, one alderman and three commoners. The treasurer, a commoner. Scrutiners two, both commoners.

The governors were always elected by the lord mayor and his brethren the other governors, who yearly appointed six, that is to say, two al. dermen and four commoners, who were admitted into the hospital after this manner : The whole company of the twelve old governors, sitting in assembly together, caused their clerk toʻread unto the six newly elected their charge. That done, and the new elected consenting and yielding themselves to the charge, the half of the governors, that had fulfilled their two years governance, stood apart, and the other half that remained, with the new elected, took them by the hands after their degrees, and so admitted them; and, before they parted, all dined to. gether, as well those that came a-new, as those that had governed their time, and those that remained, every man at his own cost and charge. VOL. III. No. 74.

Above

4 E

Above an hundred and fifty years ago this hospital maitrtained about three hundred poor diseased people, at the y early charge of 20001.

State of St. Bartholomew's Hospital, Easter, 1806. Patients admitted, cured, and discharged during the last year, 3700 in-patients, and 4432 out-patients, many of whom have been relieved with money, clothes, and other necessaries, to enable them to return to their several habitations

8132 Buried this year, after much charge in their illness 308

430 Remaining under cure,{lowpatients Outpatients

298 So that there have been during the last year,

and then were, under the care of this hospital, of poor, sick, and lame persons, destitute of all other relief 9168

As the charge and expence of this hospital much exceeds the certain revenues thereof, and there not being a fund sufficient to admit and support the many poor, wounded, maimed, and sick objects, who daily apply for relief, as sistance is often solicited, to enable the governors to support the present charity, and its enlargement. The parish church of

ST. BARTHOLOMEW THE LESS,

[graphic]

was

was originally a chapel to the hospital; but is now a vicarage in the gift of the governors.

The church stands on the side of a passage from Smithfield, called "" The Cloisters,” leading to the hospital; the tower is antient. The form of the building is Gothic : at the south-west corner is a small turret. · A large window on the side of the passage displays the arıns of Mr. Henry Andrews, aldermall, 1636.

The south side contains mulioned windows, now stopped up, and sonic antient sculpture of the arms of Edward the Confessor, impaled with the bearings of Henry II. under an imperial crown and angels, with blank sbiclds and books.

The north side of the hospital, the south side of the church, and an elegant house at the east end, the residence of the vicar, form a pleasant court.

The length from the chancel wall to the west end is forty seet. The outline is an octagon; the east end the chancel; the adjoining sides contain the reading desk and pulpit; at the western end a small organ fills the arch: over the altar are the Decalogue; and on either side the Apostle's Creed and Lord's Prayer.

The whole is lighted by painted windows, in which several coats of arms are preserved, and are formed by the arches near the roof. The inside is chaste and simple, and the best imitation of the Gothic style.

MONUMENTS. Beneath the gallery, at the west end, in the north wall, is a rich and beautiful antient monument, adorned with quartes foils and tracery, on which has been cut the following inscription :

H.S. E. Elizaboth Johannis Freke hujusce Nosocomii Chirurgi, uxor Charissima; Richardi Blundel, Londinensis, viri non minus humanitate quam arto Chirurgica insignis filia natea Major. Obiit: Nov. 16. an et 48 Dom. 1741 Et ipse Johannes Oboth Nov, 7. A.D. 1756 act 68.

At the back of the pulpit, an old tomb, adorned with pilasters, &c. of the Corinthian order, thus inscribed:

Thomas Bodleius Eques Auratus Fecit ANNÆ conjugi Piissimæ atque omnibus Exemplis beue de se Merilæ cum qua Dulciter vixit, Ann, XXIV. 4 E 2

At

« PreviousContinue »