Page images

and the third at his feet, in a praying posture, with each a book opened before him. About the tomb are various shields, with armorial bearings.

The tomb is thus inscribed :

Hic Jacet Raherus, primus Canonicus & primus Prior hujus Ecclesix.

The monuments and figures were repaired by prior Bolton; and been since several times beautified, and fenced with a strong iron rail.

A spacious marble monument for Sir Walter Mildmay, 1589, chancellor of the Exchequer, and founder of Emanuel College, Cambridge.

On the north side of the nave near the choir, is a marble monument with this inscription:

Sacred to the Memory of that Worthy and Learned Francis Anthony, Dr. in Physick.

There needs no Verse to beautifie thy Praise

Or keep in Memory thy Spotless Name;
Religion, Virtue, and thy skill did raise

A threefold Pillar to thy lasting Fame.
The póysnous Envy ever sought to blame

Or bide the Fruits of thy Intention,
Yet shall all they commend that high design

Of purest Gold to make a Medicine :*

That feel thy help by that thy rare Invention. He dyed the 16 Day of May, 1623. Of his Age 74.

His loving Son John Anthony Dr. in Physick, left this remetebrance of his Sorrow. He dyed the 28th of April, 1655. being Aged 70 Years, and was buried near this Place, and left behind him 1 Son and 3 Daughters.

A gray marble grave-stone in the choir has this inscription:

Here lyeth interred Gilbert Wyld, third Son of Sir William Wyld, Kt. and Bart. one of the Justices of the Court of Common Pleas at Westminster. And of Dame Frances his Wife, who dyed 23 Nov. 1671.

He was the inventor of the Aurum Potabile, a postrum of great note in the seventeenth century.


[ocr errors]

On the north side of the chancel, near the east end of the church, is the following inscription on a marble monument on the wall, to the memory of Thomas RoYCROFT, Esq. printer of the Polyglot Bible; he died 1626.

A marble monument on the north wall of the south cloyster, with his effigies as writing; this inscription :

Hic Inhumatum succubat quantum Terrestre viri vere venerandi
EDWARDI COOKE, Philosophii apprime Docti nec non Medici
Spectatissimi, Qui tertio Idus Augusti, Anno 1652. Anno
A tatis 39, (erta Resurgendi spe (uti necesse) naturæ concessit.

Unsluce your briny Flood, what! can you keep
Your Eyes from Tears and see the Marble weep.
Burst out for shame, or if you find no Vent

For Tears, yet stay and see the Stones relent.
The church is a rectory, in the gift of the eart of War:/ 4602
with and Holland. L'ort ten šrigtone X
There are some curious relicts of the antient priory stillerie

Pale) existing; the fine gateway facing Smithfield, the beautiful

P. 37 cloisters, the vaulted passage in Bartholomew Close, &c.

Crossing Long Lane, a narrow, filthy street, an avenue denominated Charterhouse Street, leads to a handsome cha square, bearing the same name, on account of the north Pele side being occupied by the hospital and other buildings of Pc 4 33 THE CHARTREUSE, CORRUPTLY THE CHARTER

HOUSE. The origin of this religious foundation s ascribed to the dreadful pestilence, which in 1348 desolated England, and great part of Europe,

, Sir Walter Manny, lord of the town of Manny, in the diocese of Cambray, in the Low Countries, who for the service done to king Edward III. was made knight of the Garter; had, in the year 1349, purchased thirteen acres and one rod of ground adjoining to No-Man's Land, which had been bought the preceding year by the bishop of London, for the burial of the dead; this also was consecrated by the bishop for a place of burial; in which, during that year, were interred upwards of fifty thousand persons, who


had died by the pestilence; and founded the priory for Carthusian monks*, in 1371 ; Sir Walter dring soon after, was buried within the precincts of his own foundation.

It was at first intended to remain for erer only a burial place for the poor, strangers, and diseased people; and to avoid contention between the parsons and this house the corps were first to be conveyed to their churches, and then to this place to be buried. This ground before mentioned, together with three acres morc, called Pardon Church-yard, Sir Walter gave to the prior and monks; and the house at the suppression, 29 Henry VIII. was valued at 6+21. 4[d!. yearly.

The monastery having been bestowed by the king on Sir Edward North, afterwards lord North, it was sold by his son to Thomas duke of Norfolk, from whom it descended to Thomas earl of Suffolk, and was afterward called Howard House, by which name it was purchased of the earl of Suffolk, by Thomas Sutton, Esg. where he founded this hospital. It consisted of four or five courts, a wilderness, gardens, orchards, and walks, &c. This hospital was first founded by act of parliament for erecting and endowing an hospital at Hallingbury Bouchers, in the county of Essex, March 10, 1609, by the name of the Hospital of King James, founded in Hallingbury, in the county of Essex, at the humble petition and at the only cost and charge of Thomas Sutton, Esq.

But Mr. Sutton having altered his mind respecting the situation, removed the foundation to Howard House, for which he had the king's letters patent, dated June 1611; for the house, &c. he paid down 13,0001. May the 9th, 1611; and the charter of king James was confirmed by an act of parliament in the third of king Charles I.

The following are the principal heads of the patent for erecting Sutton's Hospital:


* So called from Carthuse, near Grenoble. The order was founded by a person named Bruno, in 1083, and came into England about the year 1181.


Governors were incorporated with full authority to purchase; Teceive, &c. They were sixteen governors in all appointed bg name, and upon the death of any, the said Mr. Sutton to name Others for his life to keep up the number, and afterward the new governors to be (as any vacancy happened) nominated by the majority of the governors then living.

The master of the Charterhouse to be one of the governors, who were to have a common seal.

They were not to let longer leases than for years, rior to transfer the land settled for this purpose) to any other use.

The election of a new governor to be within two months after a vacancy, or in default, the king to appoint a governor.

The number of the old gentlemen and boys to éncrease according to the revenues.

The governors impowered to make statutės under the common seal, and to visit or displace the master or any officer of the house; the ministers freed from the visitation of the ordinary of the diocese.

There are these ecclesiastical preferments in the gift of the goa vernors of the hospital, viz.


South Minster,
Castle Camps,

Cold Norton,

Lille Wigborow.
But by the letters patent the governors are charged to bestow the
game upon those scholars only who have been bred in this house.

The benovolent founder lived not to see the hospital finally settled; but in 1614, three years after Mr. Sutton's death, it was opened by the executors, by the entry of the gentlemen, scbolars, and others. And anno 1627, these or. ders were made at an assembly, June 21, signed by king Charles the First's own hand,

“The ho«pital of king James, founded in Charterhouse, in the county of Middlesex, at the humble petition and only cost and charges of Thonias Sutton, Esq." shall be the style to be inviolably observed and expressed in the same formal words upon all evin dences, conveyances, leases, and writings of records,

There shall be an anniversary commemoration of the founder, kept every 12th of December with solemn service, á sermon, and Vol. III. No, 75.

4 G




such increase of commons as we allow upon other festival days by our establishment.

The governors jointly taken, make the head of this body corporate, the poor brothers and scholars, and such others as are mentioned only in the king's letters patents, shall be stiled Members of the Foundation, and shall be chosen within two months after the vacancy, according to the express words of the letters patents,

All other oficers of the revenue or houshold, not particularly mentioned in the letters patents, shall be reputed and taken as Members of Arbitrary Election, and it shall be in the governors power to make their number more or less, and to choose them sooner or later, as to their wisdom shall seem best for the good of the hospital.

No member of the foundation or of arbitrary election shall be a married man, either at the time of his admission or after, upon penalty of being deprived of his place; but there is an exception for the then present physician, receiver and auditor.

The improper titles for an hospital of attorney general, surveyor general, steward of the houskold, shall be abolished.

All possible diligence shall be used to obtain the next sessions an act of parliament for confirmation of the foundation.

The common seal shall be kept in the evidence house under four keys, the master of the house always to keep one.

The statutes and ordinances of the hospital, under the common seal shall be twice engrossed, the originals to be kept in the eviděnce house, the other in the custody of the master, to be brought to the table at every assembly.

The master shall always keep one of the keys of the evidence hou e, and no writing to be delivered to the solicitor but with a note of particulars registered in a book under the master's hand, and a note taken under his hand that receives them, for the redelivery.

A true copy of the deeds, evidences, survey, leases, orders, and other writings touching the hospital lands, shall be fairly written in a parchment ledger book.

An iron chest shall be in the receiver's custody for the keeping of the hospital revenues, whereof he shall give an account quarterly to the master; and another with three several locks and keys (two to be kept by the master and receiver, and the third by whom the governors please) to be in the evidence house for


« PreviousContinue »