Scavenge the Stars, Volume 1

Front Cover
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, Mar 9, 2021 - Young Adult Fiction - 352 pages
From rising-star author Tara Sim comes an epic new YA fantasy duology--a gender-swapped The Count of Monte Cristo retelling that's perfect for fans of All the Stars and Teeth by Adalyn Grace.

When Amaya rescues a mysterious stranger from drowning, she fears her rash actions have earned her an even longer sentence on the debtor ship where she's been held captive for years. Instead, the man she saved offers her unimaginable riches and a new identity, setting Amaya on a perilous course through the coastal city-state of Moray, where old-world opulence and desperate gamblers collide. Amaya still only wants one thing: revenge against the man who ruined her family and stole the life she once had. But the more entangled she becomes in this game of deception--and as her path intertwines with the son of the man she's plotting to bring down--the more she uncovers about the truth of her past. And the more she realizes she can't trust anyone but herself. Packed with high-stakes adventure, romance, and dueling identities, this gender-swapped retelling of The Count of Monte Cristo is the first novel in an epic YA fantasy duology.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Pascale1812 - LibraryThing

A vengeful orphan. A desperate brother. One devious mastermind plotting to bring the city to its knees. After seven years of servitude, Amaya’s debt is nearly paid, and she hopes to return home just ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - AlysinBookland - LibraryThing

Scavenge the Stars is the first book that I finished reading this year, and I am still thinking of what I felt for the story. Revengeful characters are not uncommon to me, as most of what I’ve been ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2021)

Tara Sim is a YA fantasy author who can typically be found wandering the wilds of the Bay Area, California. She is the author of the Timekeeper trilogy, which has been featured on Entertainment Weekly, Bustle, and various media outlets. When she's not chasing cats or lurking in bookstores, she writes books about magic, clocks, and explosives.

Bibliographic information