« PreviousContinue »
The College Buttery, which is divided by a Passage from the Hall, is a very pretty Room, of an oval Form, with an arch'd Stone Roof of very curious Work.
The Common Room is a very good One, being a Cube of 26 Feet, and lighted by a large Venetian Window.
The Warden's Lodgings, which front the High. Street, and are contiguous to the rest of the College, is a handsome Houfe, late the Dwelling of George Clarke, LL. D. a great Benefactor.
The Private Apartments of the College are generally very neat and convenient. The Room in the Old Qua. drangle, which was formerly the Library, (before the New one above-described was finished) is lately fitted up, by one of the Fellows, in a very elegant Manner, in the Gorhic Tafte ; and is deservedly efteemed one of the Curiosities of the House.
The Founder of this College, Dr. Henry Cbicheley, was born at Higham Ferrers in Northampton fhire; and having had his School Learning in that Town, was, in in the Year 1387, made by William of Wykeham, one of his first Sett of Fellows at New College in Oxford, where he took the Degree of Doctor of Civil Law. He was made Archdeacon of Sarum, and afterwards Chancellor of the same Church; and becoming known to Henry IV. was sent on several Embassies by that Monarch, and advanced first to the Bishopric of St. David's, in which having continued five Years, he was translated on July 29, 1414, to the See of Canterbury, of which he remained Archbishop twenty-nine Years. He laid the Foundation of All Souls College in 1437 ; the Charter of Incorporation is dated May 20, 16 Henry VI. in which it is called Collegium Animarum omnium Fidelium defunétorum de Oxon. that is, Tbe College of the Souls of all Faithful People departed of Oxford.
By the Statutes he gave this College, he appointed forty Fellows, whereof twenty-four were directed to
ftudy Divinity and Philosophy, and the other fixteen the Civil and Canon Law. He procured from King Henry VI. a Grant of the Lands and Revenues of se. veral dissolved Priories to endow his College, and in his Life-time erected the Chapel, and all the rest of the Buildings (except fome very modern ones) which cost him 45451. and at his Death gave to the Society the Sums of 1341. 6 s. 8 d. and 100 Marks. · The most considerable Benefactors, next to the Foun. der, have been Colonel Christopher Codringron, Governor of the Leeward Islands, and Fellow of All-Souls, already-mentioned; George Clarke, LL. D. the late Duke of Wharton; Doddington Greville, Esq; Lieutenant General Stewart, and Sir Nathaniel Lloyd, who, at the · Time that he was Fellow of this College, was Head of of a College in Cambridge. The Colonel bequeathed 6000 l. for building the noble Library already described, his own valuable Study of Books, and 4000l, more to purchase new ones; and Dr. Clarke gave his beauful House, &c. for the Use of the Warden succeffively of the College. He also much augmented the Chaplainships.
In this College are a Warden, forty Fellows, two Chaplains, and lix Clerks.
A very peculiar Custom is the celebrating the Mal. lard Night, every Year, on the 14th of January, in Remembrance of an excessive large Mallard or Drake, supposed to have long rang’d in a Drain or Sewer, where it was found at the Digging for the Foundation of the College. A very authentic Account of this Event hath lately been retrieved, and published to the learned World, from a Manuscript of Thomas Walfingham the Historian, and Monk of St. Alban's. It is the Cause of much Mirth, for on the Day, and in Re. membrance of the Mallard, is always sung a merry Old Song set to ancient Music. Visitor. The Archbishop of Canterbury.
" BRASES S
**** ******** en este · BRAS E-NOS E COLLEGE
TORMS the West Side of the Radcliffe Square.
- Was founded in the Year 1507, by the joint Benefaction of William Smith, Bishop of Lincoln, and Sir Richard Sutton, Knight. Over the Gate are the Arms of the latter.
The most probable Account of the uncommon Name of this College seems to be this : The Founders purchased from University College, for the Scite of their intended Building, two ancient Seats of Learning, Brafe-Nose and Little University Halls; or, as the last was more commonly call's, Black Hall. Both these are supposed to have received their respe&tive Names from fome Students, who removed thither from two such Seminaries in the temporary Univerfity of Stamford. And Anthony Wood says the Stamford Seminary was call’d Brazen-Nose from an Iron Ring fix'd in a Nose of Brass ferving as a Knocker to the Gate; which is'. said to be remaining there at this Time.
But another Antiquary, Dr. White Kennet, says, that it was originally a Copper-Nose, or a red Carbuncled. Nose, which was commonly exposed as a Sign to fome -Hofpitia, or Houses of Entertainment ;'and from thence probably, the Hotel, or Hall at Oxford, as well as the other at Stamford, had it's denomination. .
The Founders, with a View to both these ancient Seats of Learning, ordered their New Seminary to be called, The King's Hall and College of Brafen-Nose. Agreeable to its Antiquity as University Hall, there are still over the Door of the Refectory two very ancient Busts : The one of the glorious Alfred the first Founder, the other of John Erigena, a Scotsman, who first read Lectures there in the Year 882. . The Refectory itself is neat and convenient, adorn
ed with the Pictures of the principal Benefactors, and very good Paintings on Glass of the two Founders. It stands on the South Side of the first Quadrangle. In the Center of which is a Statue of Cain and Abel.
Through a Passage on the Left-hand of the Gate of the first Quadrangle we enter the second. This is a more modern Structure, and is supposed to have fallen from the Hands of that great Architect Sir Christopher Wren.
A Cloister with a Library over it forms the East * Side, the Chapel the South. The Area is disposed in the Form of a Garden planted with flowering Shrubs. : The Library is rather calculated for real Ufe, than ornamental Shew. The Chapel has a Neatness and Simplicity becoming the House of God. If these may be considered as the Parents of Beauty, this Edifice has very. strong Pretensions to it. The Roof and AltarPiece, and East Window, are each respectively fine..:
The Ante-Chapel has an elegant Monument to the * Memory of the late Principal Dr. Shippen, who during his presiding over the College had the utmost Regard to its Interest. His Bust gives the strongest Features of his Face.. · The Foundation of this College is for a Principal, twenty Fellows, thirty-two Scholars, and four Exhibitioners.
The Number of Names in the Book at present are about ninety.
Visitor. The Bishop of Lincoln. *************************************
HERTFORD COLL E G.E-
1 Schools, consisting of one Court, which about fifty Years ago was begun to be rebuilt. The Col.