« PreviousContinue »
per: In the 4th, the Elevation of the Brazen Serpent in the Wilderness; and over it, our Saviour's Crucifixion : In the 5th, Jonas delivered out of the Whale's Belly; and over it our Saviour's Resurrection: In the 6th, Elijah going to Heaven in the Fiery Chariot; and over it, our Saviour's Ascension.
The Cieling, which is Cedar, is embellished with the Arms of the Founders and the principal Benefactors; intermixed with Cherubims, Palm-branches, Fef, toons, &c. beautifully painted and gilt. The Lower Cedar Desks are terminated with eight well executed Figures of the fame Wood, viz. Moses and Aaron, the Four Eyangelifts, St. Peter and St. Paul.
This Chapel was built in 1630, by Dr. John Wil. liams, at that Time Bishop of Lincoln, and afterwards Archbishop of York; of whom Memorials are to be seen in several Places.
This College was first founded by Richard Flemming, who was born of a good Family in Yorkshire. He was educated in this University, of which he was two Years Proctor, being then Fellow of Univerfity College. :o
In 1420, he was made Bifbop of Lincoln by King Henry V. and died in 14312: He obtained the Charter of Incorporation of King Henry VI. in the fixth Year of his Reign; and in 1429 eftablished a College, con. Gfting of a Rector and seven Fellows, to whom he ap. propriated the Income of the said Churches
In the Year 1478, Thomas Scott, alias Rotherham, then Bishop of Lincoln, considering the Imperfe&t State of this Foundation, obtained a new Charter of King Ed, ward IV. by Virtue whereof, he added five other Fel. lowships to the seven before founded, annexed to the College the Rectories of Long Combe in Oxfordshire, and I'wyford in Buckinghampoire, and gave them a Body of Statutes, in which he limits the Choice of the Fellows to the Dioceses of Lincoln and York, all except one, whom he would have to be of the Diocese of Wells,
But the greatest Benefactor to this College was the Right Honourable Nathaniel Lord Crewe, late Bishop of Durham, who being here in the Year 1717, after con§Â2ū2ūtiņģ\22\\2\/22/22/2§Â2 Ò2ÂÒ2 ÂòÂ?Â2Ò222 2 carrying on at Chris Church, Queen's, Worcester, and All. Souis Colleges, and to the finishing of All Saints Church, settled by Way of a Rent Charge free from all Deduc. tions whatsoever, issuing out of his Manors in Nortbum. berland and Durham, Twelve Exhibitions of 20 l. per Annum each, for Commoners of this College, whom he would have to be the Sons of Gentlemen; and made a confiderable Augmentation to the annual Stipends of the Rector, Fellows, Scholars, Bible Clerk, and the Chaplains of the four appropriated Churches. And what much enhanced the Merit of his Beneficence was, that his Benefaction took place immediately; and they all received their respective Shares of it half yearly, for several Years, while their' Great Benefactor was living. .
. è A little before the Time of the second Foundation, Thomas Beckington, Bishop of Bath and Wells, left a confiderable Sum of Money to this College, to erect an handfome Apartment for the Rector at the Sontheast Corner of the Quadrangle. Upon several Parts of which Building is a Device cut in Stone, representing a Beacon and Tun, alluding to the said Benefactor's Name of Bokyntun.
After which, Thomas de Rotheram compleated the Quadrangle, by building up the Remainder of the South Side of it; on the Wall of which are his Arms curious. ly carved in Stone in several Places. . • The Members of this College are usually between fifty and sixty.
The Bishop of Lincoln.
ORIEL COLLEGE. O RIEL College is fituated between St. Mary's
Chnrch on the North, Corpus Christi College on the South, and Christ Church on the West; the En. trance is on the West. It chiefly consists of one regu. lar, uniform, well-built Quadrangle. On the North Side whereof is the Library and the Provoit's Lodga ings; on the East the Hall, and the Entrance into the Chapel, which runs Eastward from thence; and on the South and West Sides are the Chambers of the of the Fellows and other Students. :
Opposite to the Great Gate we ascend by a large Flight of Steps, having a Portico over them, to the Hail; which is a well-proportioned Room, handsome. ly wainscotted, with a Doric Entablature, and adorned with three Whole-length Portraits, viz. in the Middle, at the Upper-end a very fine one of King Edward II. enthroned with his Regalia, by Hudson; on his Right Hand, one of Queen Anne by Dahl; and on his-Left, one of the late Duke of Beaufort, in his Parliamentrobes, having a Negro Servant bearing his Coronet, by Soldi. . - 'The Chapel, which has been lately repaired and ore namented, has that Beauty which is derived from a decent Simplicity : The large East Window, The Wife Men offering, was lately painted by Mr. Peckett, from a Defign by Dr. Wall. *
Through a Passage on the North Side, we enter the Garden Court. The Garden is fenced at this End with a Pair of Iron Gates and Palisades, properly supported by a Dwarf-Wall and Stone Piers. On either Hand is a Wing of new Building, in a Style conformable to the Quadrangle. That on the Right, was built at the Expense of Dr. Robinson, Bishop of London : And that
NEW Corte Provost; Pat's Lodg
New COMPANION on the Left by Dr. Carter, late Provost; Part thereof be. ing intended as an Addition to the Provoft's Lodgings.
This College was founded by King Edward II. 1324. King Edward III. and Adam le Brome, Almoner to King Edward III. who was the firft Provost, were confiderable Benefactors to this College. King Edward III. par. ticularly gave them the Large Meffuage of Le Oriel, situate in St. John's Parish, by which Name the College was afterwards called; from whence this College has been frequently held to be a Royal Foundation: But the first Grant was made to St. Mary Hall, from whence the Fellows-removed to Oriel, after that House was af. signed to them. He likewise gave them the Hospital of St. Bartholomew, near Oxford, with the Lands thereun. to belonging..
Other Benefactors were John Frank, Master of the Rolls in the Reign of Henry VI. who gave 1000 l, to this College at his Death, to purchase Lands for the Maintenance of four Fellows; John Carpenter, formerly Provost, and afterwards Bishop of Worcester ; William Smith, Bishop of Lincoln, and Dr. Richard Dudley, some. çime Fellow, and afterwards Chancellor of the Church of Şarum, gave the College the Manor of Swaynswick in Somersetsbire, for the Maintenance of two Fellows and fix Exhibitioners. Dr. John Tolson, who was Provost in 1.640, was the principal Benefactor to the prefent Edi. fice, to which Purpose he gave 11501and other con. siderable Donations, Queen Anne annexed a Prebend of Rochester to the Provost for ever. Dr. Robinson, BiShop of London, besides the New Building, gave 2500l. to augment the Fellowships. And the late Duke of Beaufort gave 100l. per Annum for four Exhibitioners, * The present Members are a Provoft, eighteen Fel. Jows, and fourteen Exhibitioners; the whole Number of Students of all Sorts about eighty. Home Viftor. The Lord Chancellor.
CORPUS-CHRISTI COLLEGE. CORPUS-CHRISTI College stands between ChriftU Church on the West, Merton College on the East, and Oriel College on the North; conisting of one Quadrangle, an elegant Pile of modern Buildings, in which are pleasant and commodious Rooms (that look into Merton and Chrift-Church Meadows) and a Cloister adjoining; also a neat Structure which looks Eastwards towards Merton College Grove, in which are Apartments appropriated to Gentlemen-Commoners, whose Number the Founder has confined to Six, and who are to be Sons of Noblemen, or other eminent Persons.
On the East Side of the Quadrangle is the Hall, which is 50 Feet long, and 25 broad, and of a proportionable Height,
The Cylindrical Dial in the Quadrangle is set at Right Angles with the Horizon, the common Sections whereof, with the Hour Circles, except the Meridian Circle that divides it by the Axis, as also the Equinoctial, are all Ellipses, and is a fine old Piece of Gnomonicks. On the Column is a perpetual Kalendar.
The Chapel, which is situated at the South-east Corner of the Quadrangle, is 70 Feet in Length, and 25 in Breadth.
The Library is well furnished with Books, particu. larly a large Collection of Pamphlets from the Reformation to the Revolution. About 300 MSS. An English Bible, supposed to be older than Wickliffe's. A Parchment Roll, containing the Pedigree of the Royal Family, and the several Branches of it, from King Alfred
to Edward VI. with their Arms blazoned, figned by · the King at Arms; and several other Curiosities, particularly an ancient Manuscript History of the Bible in