« PreviousContinue »
PEMBROKE COLLEGE. PEmbroke College, so called from the Earl of Pema
broke, Chancellor of the University at the Time it was founded, is situated near St. Aldate's Church, in a direct Line from the grand Gate of Christ Church, and consists of two small Courts. The Quadrangle is neat and uniform, having the Hall at the North-west Angle, in which are Pictures of the Founders and some Benefactors. The Chapel is a small, elegant Building, of the Ionic Order, with a beautiful Altar-piece. In the Gar. den, which is Weft of the Chapel, is a pleasant Common Room, and a Terras-walk. The Master's Lodg. ings, which join to the College on the North, is a handsome modern Edifice.
This College, formerly Broadgate Hall, was founded An. 1620, by Tho. Tesdale, of Glympton, Efq; and Ri. chard W bitwick, S. T. B. Rector of Illey, Berks, for a Master, ten Fellows, and ten Scholars. Four of Mr. Tefdale's Fellows to be chosen out of his Relations, and the rest to come from Abingdon Free School.
As to Mr. Whitwick's Benefaction, two of the Fel. lows and two Scholars to be of his Kindred, and the relt from Abingdon School.
King Charles I. granted to this Society the perpetual Advowson of St. Aldate's Church; and certain Lands, for the Maintenance of one Fellow, to be chosen from Guernsey or Jersey.
Archbishop Abbot, Juliana Stafford, and Francis Rous, were the next Benefactors; and Dr. George Morley, Bishop of Winchester, founded five Scholarships for the Natives of Guernsey and Jersey.
Queen Anne annexed a Prebend of Gloucester to the Maftership. Lady Holford gave two Exhibitions of 201. a Year each ; Dr. Hall, Master of this College, and Bi
Shop shop of Bristol, built the Master's Lodgings; Sir John Bennet, Lord Ofulftone, endowed cwo Fellowships and Scholarships ; Mr. Townshend gave eight Exhibitions to young Scholars from Gloucestershire; and Sir John Phillips, Bárt. in 1749, founded one Fellowship and one Scholarship.
The present Members are a Master, fourteen Fel. lows, 30 Scholars and Exhibitioners ; the whole Number of Students usually about 70.
Visitor. The Chancellor of the University,
TIVE Halls or Academical Houses, not incorpo.
rated, are still remaining. Originally the Students lived chiefly in these Academical Halls or Hotels, where Professors and Tutors resided. But when the Colleges were founded, and still more, when the Reformation took place, the liberal Education, now in Use, brought most of the Students to the more convenient Accom. modation in Colleges. These Societies are not endow. ed, and are under the Government of their respective Principals, whose Income arises from the Room-rent of the Chambers. The Students take an Oath to obey the Statutes and Customs of the Hall, which Statutes ave made and altered by the Chancellor, who has the Nomination of the Principals, and is Visitor of all the Halls, except St. Edmund Hall, which is dependant on Queen's College, the Principal of it being appointed by that Society.
ST. ALBAN HALL, ia I. ST. ALBAN HALL, which is in St. John's Parish, adjoins to Merton College on the East. It was founded by Robert de St, Alban, out of Part of the Lands bea
longing longing to the Abbey of Littlemore. Of this Hall were Archbishop Marsh; Dr. Lamplugh, Archbishop of York; Benediet Barnham, Alderman of London, who built the Front of the Hall as it is at present; and William Lena thall, Esq; Speaker of the Long Parliament.
ST. EDMUND HALL. II. ST. EDMUND Hall, is opposite to the East Side of Queen's ; to which College it is dependant, and has about 25 Students. The Buildings were compleated, and other considerable Improvements made by the late Principal, Dr. Shaw. Of this Hall were Dr. John Mill, 'who published the Greek Testament, printed at the Thea atre; and Thomas Hearne, M. A. that diligent Antiqua. rian.
NEW-INN-HALL. III. New-INN-HALL stands at the West End of the City, near the Church of St. Peter in the Bailey. It was formerly called Trillock's-Inn from John Trillock, Bishop of Hereford, who founded it in the Year 1349. Opposite this Hall is the Gateway of a College of Monks of the Augustine Order, in which Erasmus refided two Years. He left an elegant Latin Poem on his Manner of Living there.
ST. MARY HALL. • IV. ST. MARY HALL is situated North of Oriel College, near the High-Street. It consists of one Quadrangle, with a Garden inclosed in the Middle of it. It is formed by the Principal's Lodgings on the North, the Hall and Chapel on the South, and on the East and West by the Chambers of the Students.
This Hall was founded by King Edward II. Some Exhibitions have been given to assist the Students in the Prosecution of their Studies.
Several Several eminent Men have resided here, viz. Cardi. nal Allen, Sir Thomas Moore, Erasmus, Mr. Sandys the celebrated English Poet and Traveller, &c.
V. MAGDALEN HÅLL is adjoining to the West Side of Magdalen College, to which it is an Appendant. The Number of Exhibitions given to this Hall supplies it with many Members. It was founded by William Wainfleet, the Founder of Magdalen College, and has in it a large Grammar School for a Nursery for Magdalen College. Lord Chancellor Clarendon, the famous Hiftorian, who was also Chancellor of the Uni, "versity, was educated at this Hall,
The Late and Present GOVERNORS
Of the respective
COLLEGES and H A L L S.
Late and present Presidents of Magdalen College. 1745. Thomas Jenner, D. D. 168. George Horne, D. D.
Late and present Masters of University College. 1744. John Brownė, D, D. 1764. Nathan Wetherell, D.D.
Late and present Provosts of Queen's College. 1756. Joseph Browne, D.D. 1767. Thomas Fothergill, D, D.
Late and present Wardens of All Souls College. 1726. Stephen Niblett, D.D... 1767. The Honourable John Tracy, D. D. Late and present Principals of Brasenose College. 1770. Ralph Cawley, D. D. 1777. Thomas Barker, D. D. Late and present Principals of Hertford College. 1757. David Durell, D. D 1775. Bernard Hodgson, LL, D.