Autobiographies: The Collected Works of W.B. Yeats, Volume III, Volume 3

Front Cover
Simon and Schuster, Jun 15, 2010 - Poetry - 560 pages
0 Reviews
Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified
The Collected Works of W. B. Yeats, Volume III: Autobiographies is part of the fourteen-volume series overseen by eminent Yeats scholars Richard J. Finnerah and George Mills Harper. The series includes virtually all of the Nobel laureate's published work, with authoritative and explanatory notes.
Autobiographies consists of six autobiographical works -- Reveries Over Childhood and Youth, The Trembling of the Veil, Dramatis Personae, Estrangement, The Death of Synge, and The Bounty of Sweden -- that William Butler Yeats published together in the mid-1930s to form a single, extraordinary memoir of the first fifty-eight years of his life, from his earliest memories of childhood to winning the Nobel Prize for Literature. This volume provides a vivid series of personal accounts of a wide range of figures, and it describes Yeats's work as poet and playwright, as a founder of Dublin's famed Abbey Theatre, his involvement with Irish nationalism, and his fascination with occultism and visions. This book is most compelling as Yeats's own account of the growth of his poetic imagination. Yeats thought that a poet leads a life of allegory, and that his works are comments upon it. Autobiographies enacts his ruling belief in the connections and coherence between the life that he led and the works that he wrote. It is a vision of personal history as art, and so it is the one truly essential companion to his poems and plays.
Edited by William H. O'Donnell and Douglas N. Archibald, this volume is available for the first time with invaluable explanatory notes and includes previously unpublished passages from candidly explicit first drafts.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Editors Preface
Notes 4
The Trembling of the Veil Book II Ireland after Parnell
The Trembling of the Veil Book III Hodos Chameliontos
The Trembling of the Veil Book IV The Tragic Generation
The Trembling of the Veil Book V The Stirring of the Bones
18961902 w 1934 publ 1935
Extracts From A Diary Kept In 1909
The Death of Synge w 1909 1911 1914 publ 1928
The Bounty of Sweden w 192324 publ 1924
A Lecture delivered to the Royal
Emendations to the CopyText

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2010)

William Butler Yeats is generally considered to be Ireland’s greatest poet, living or dead, and one of the most important literary figures of the twentieth century. He was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1923.

Bibliographic information