« PreviousContinue »
that celebrated Architect Sir Christopher Wren, at the expence of Archbishop Sheldon, the Chancellor, in 1669, and cost his Grace 15000l. to which he added 2000l. to purchase lands for the perpetual repair of it.
On the west side of the Theatre stands the Ath. molean Museum, a handsome Edifice, built, by the University at the request of Elias Ashmolé, Efq; Windfor Herald to King Charles II. who placed here all the Rarities he had collected and purchased, particularly from the two Tradescanti. The Building was completa ed in 1682, under the conduct of Sir Christopher Wren, and is admired for its Syınetry and Elegance. The Eastern Portico is highly finished in the Corinthian Ore der, and adorned with Variety of Characteristical Embellishments.
Mr. Anmole presented to the University a valuable Collection of Natural Curiofities, Coins and Manufcripts, together with three Gold Chains, one of philigrain work, he had received as honorary Presents from the King of Denmark and other Princes on Oc-'casion of his Book on the Order of the Garter.
This Repository has been greatly enriched by feveral ample and valuable benefactions. The princia pal Natural Curiosities are the Collection of Bodies,, Horns, Bones, &in of Animals preserved dry, or in Spirits; curious and numerous Specimens of Metals and Minerals; Dr. Lister's Collection of Shells, Ores, Fossils, &c. most of which are published in his Synopsis Conchyliorum, and in the Philosophical Transactions.
Its two firft Keepers were Dr. Robert Plott and Mr., Edward Lhwyd, the former of which deposited here all his Natural Bodies mentioned in his Histories of Staffordfire and Oxfordshire; and the latter his Cal
lections in his Travels through England, Wales, and Ireland. Mr. Borlací, Author of the Natural History of Corwall, presented also to this Museum the Specimens of Chrystals, Mundicks, Coppers, Tins, &c. described in that Work.
The large Magnet, given by the Countess of Weftmorland, is of an oval Shape, 18 inches long, 12 wide, and supports a Weight of 145 Pounds.
Three curious Pieces of Art deserve particular No. tice, viz. a Model of a Ship; a Picture of our Saviour going to his Crucifixion, composed of the most beautiful lively Feathers; and an ancient Piece of St. Cuthbert, made by Order of King Alfred.
The last and very entertaining Present to this Collection, was given by Mr. Reinhold Forster, who went the first Voyage round the World with Captain Cook, consisting of a great Variety of the Manufactures, Habits, Warlike Instruments, and an Idol, which he brought from the Island of O Taheitee and New Zealand.
Among the Paintings are a few very good ones: a Dead Chrift, by Hannibal Carrache. Tomas Earl of Arundel, and the Duke of Norfolk, his Son, by Vandyke. Christ's Descent into Hell, by Brugeil.
In this Building are three small Libraries; the first, called Asomole's Study, contains his printed Books and Manuscripts relating to Heraldry and Antiquity, and the Manuscripts of Sir William Dugdale, Author of the Monasticon Anglicanwn : The second contains Dr. Lifter's Library. The third that of Mr. Anthony à Wood, with his laborious and learned Collections, relating chiefly to this University and City. .
On the first Floor is the Apparatus for the Lectures in Experimental Philosophy, where the Professor reads his Courses of Lectures; as underneath is the grand Apparatus for the present extensive Lectures in Chemistry now established in the University.
CLARENDON PRINTING-HOUSE. On the other Side of the Theatre, and North of the Schools, stands the Clarendon Printing-House, built in the Year 1711, with the Profits arising from the Sale of Lord Clarendon's History, the Copy of which was given to the University by the Lords Clarendon and Rochester, Sons to that noble Lord. It is a grand Edifice, 115 Feet in Length ; and consists of two lofty Stories. Towards the Street is a magnificent Portico in the Doric Order ; the Height of the Columns being equal to the two Stories. This is answered on the opposite Side, next the Schools, by a Frontispiece supported by Three-Quarter Columns of the fame Dimenfions; and the Doric Entablature encompasses the whole Building. On the Top, are Statues of the Nine Muses; and over the Entrance on the South Side a Statue of the Earl of Clarendon. As we enter on this Side, on the Right-hand, are the Apartments where Bibles and Common Prayer Books are printed, under the Privilege and Appointment of the Univerfity. On the Left is the University Press; and a well-finished Apatment, where the Heads of Houles. and Delegates meet on the Bufiness of the University
1.) Hit RADCLIFFE'S NEW LIBRARY. Şouthward of the Schools, in the Centre of a beautiful Area, stands the new or Radclivian Library; for the building whereof, that celebrated Physician Drá John Radcliffe bequeathed the Sum of 40,000l. He fixed the Sallary of the Librarian at 1501.per Annum ; appropriated rool. per. Annum to buy Books; and 100l. per Annum to keep the Library in Repair.
The Rustic Bafement, which is 1oo Feet in Dia.. meter from Qutside to Outside, is a double Octagon of 26 Square; either of which Squares are distinguish