« PreviousContinue »
Choristers, and two Sextons. The Number of Students of all Sorts being usually about seventy.
Visitor. The Bishop of Winchester.
on an Eminence, just above the River Isis and the Meadows, at the Extremity of the Western Suburb. At entering the College, we have the Chapel and Hall on each side, both of which are 29 Feet in Breadth, and 50 in Length. The Library, which is a magnificent Ionic Edifice, on the West of the Chapel and Hall, is 100 Feet in Length, supported by a spacious Cloyster. It is furnished with a valuable Collection of Books, chiefly the Library of Dr. Clarke, late Fellow of All-Soul's College; in which is Inigo Jones's Palladio, with his own Manuscript Notes. According to the Plan proposed, this College is to consist of the Chambers of the Fellows and Scholars on the North and South, and the Gardens, which are to lie on a Descent to the River, on the West. The Apartment of the Provost is at the North-west Angle. From whence this College will enjoy not only the pleasantest Situation, but be one of the most elegant Structures in the University, especially if the Society carry their Design into execution of opening an Avenue from the College to Magdalen Parish Church.
The College was founded Anno 1714, by Sir Thomas Cookes, for a Provost, fix Fellows, and fix Scholars.
Dr. Finney farther endowed it with two Fellowships and two Scholarships for Students from Staffordshire. Dr. Clarke founded fix Fellowships and three Scholarships, with a Preference to Clergymen's Sons. And Mrs. Eaton, Daughter to Dr. Eaton, Principal of Glocester Hall, founded fix Fellowships. Lady Holford gave two Exhibitions of 201. a Year each, for Charter-house Scholars, to be enjoyed Eight Years.
- This House was formerly called Glocester College,
Here are a Provost, twenty Fellows, seventeen
Vifitor. The Chancellor of the University.
E X E TER COLL E G E.
in the Center of which is a magnificent Gate and Tower. The Composition of each Front (viz, that towards the Street and that towards the Quadrangle) is a Rustic Basement which forms the Gateway; a Plinth, whereupon are placed four Pilasters of the Ionic Order, supporting a semicircular Pediment, in the Area of which are the Founder's Arms on a Shield adorned with Feltoons, finishing with a Balustrade above all. Thisz, with the beautiful arched Roof of the Gateway, is juftly esteemed an elegant Piece of Workmanship. The: Building within chiefly consists of a large Quadrangle, formed by the Hall, the Chapel, the Rector's Lodgings, and the Chambers of the Fellows and Scholars, and is regular and uniforma
The Gardens are neatly difpofed, and though;within the Town, have an airy and pleasant Opening to the East, and a Terrace, from whence we have a View of some of the finest Buildings in the University.
The Library is well furnished with Books in the several Arts and Sciences, and a very valuable Col
lection of Classics, given by Edward Richards, Esquire.
Walter Stapledon, Bishop of Exeter, Lord Treasurer of England, and Secretary of State to King Edward II. 1316, obtained a Charter for founding a College where Hertford College now stands; but wanting room for the Buildings he designed, he removed his Scholars to the present House, and gave it the Name of Stapledon-Hall, after his own Name. He founded a Society consisting of Thirteen, i.e. A Rector and twelve Fellows; one of whom, the Chaplain, to be appointed by the Dean and Chapter of Exeter ; eight to be elected out of the Archdeaconries of Exeter, Totnes, and Barnstaple in Devonshire, and four from the Archdeaconry of Cornwall.
Among the subsequent Benefactors was Edmond Stafford, Bishop of Exeter, who obtained Leave to alter the Name of this House, and settled two Fellowships for the Diocese of Sarum. Sir William Petre in Queen Elizabeth's Time obtained a new Charter and Statutes, founded eight Fellowships for such Counties .wherever he then had, or his Heirs at any Time after should have Estates; which by this Time comprehends most of the Counties in England. King Charles one Fellowship for the Isands of Jerfey and Guernsey. And by Mrs. Shiers's Benefaction, as completed' and bottled by Dr. Hugh Shortrige, two other Fellowships were added, confined to the Counties of Hertford and Surrey; besides considerable Augmentations to the Revenues of the Society. The last Benefactor was the tearned Mr. Joseph Sanford, of Balliol College, who gave this Society his very valuable Library; for the Reception of which they in the Year 1781, erected a neat modern Edifice in a part of their Garden neaj their former Library.
The present Members are a Rector, 25 Fellows one Scholar, who is Bible Clerk, and two Exhibitio mers. The whole Number of Members about feventy
Visitor. The Bilhop of Exeter.
improved by a very handsome Rustic Gate-way, and other Additions.
In the first Court the Chapel on the North Side, and Hall on the West, are neat well proportioned Rooms, the latter having within these few Years been much improved by the Addition of a Cieling and other Or. naments by Mr. Roberts..
The Inner Court has three Sides uniformly and neatly Built (the Hall before-mentioned making the fourth Side of this Quadrangle) and on the West Side of it over the Common Room, &c. is a spacious well furnished Library,
In the Principal's Lodgings is a fine Picture of King Charles I. at full Length, by Vandyke ; and in the Library a half Length of King Charles II. and some original Picces of Dr.Hugh Price, by Holben, Dr. Mansell, Sir Leoline Jenkins, &c. Benefactors to this College.
Other Curiosities in this College are, I. a most magnificent Piece of Plate, the Gift of the late Sir Watkin
Williams Wynn, Bart. for the Use of the Fellows Common Room. And 2. the Statutes of the College beautifully written upon Vellum, by the late Mr. Parry of Shipston upon Stour, formerly fellow of this College.
College was founded by Queen Elizabeth, by Charter bearing Date the 27th of June, 1571, for a Principal, eight Fellows, and eight Scholars. The Queen, at the Request of Hugh Price, LL.D. a Native of Brecknock, and Treasurer of the Church of St. David's, granted her Royal Charter of Foundation, and a certain religious House or Cell called Whitehall, (which before the Dissolution of Monasteries belonged to the Priory of St. Frideswide) for the Site of the College, together with such Timber and other Materials as should be wanting for the building of it, out of her Majesty's Forests of Shotover and Stowe.
The first Endowment of this College was by Dr. Hugh Price abovementioned, who, by Deed bearing Date the last Day of the said Month of June, 1971, conveyed to the College by the Stile and Title of the Principal; Fellows and
Scholars of Jesus College, within the City and University of Oxford, of Queen Elizabeth's Foundation, certain Lands, Meffuages and Tenements in the County of Brecknock, of the Value of about 1601. per Annum, for the Maintenance and Support of a Principal, eight Fellows, and eight Scholars, being the Number limited in the Original Charter of Foundation; though by Charters_fince granted at different Times, and the munificence of subsequent Benefactors, the Number of Fellows and Scholars is now more than doubled.
The principal Benefactors after Dr. Hugh Price, who may in some Measure be called the founder of this originally little Society, were, Sir Eubulę Thelwal, Kt. Principal of the College, who, besides his Contributions towards the Buildings, carried on under his Direction, increased the Number of Fellows from eight to fixteen; Dr. Francis Manfell, who was thrice Principal ; Sir Leoline Jenkins; King Charles I. Dr. Griffith Lloyd, and many others.
The Society now consists of a Principal, 19 Fellows and 18 Scholars, besides a confiderable Number of Exhibitioners, in all eighty or ninety.
Visitor. The Earl of Pembroke.
eter College. It consists of two Courts. The first, which we enter under a Tower, is formed by the Rector's Lodgings on the South-East Angle, the Library and Common Room on the North, and Refec tory on the East, the sides of which are 80 Feet each,