« PreviousContinue »
The Inner or South Court has also a Gate into the Street; and is a Square likewise, but less than the other, being 70 Feet each Way.
The Hall is a handsome Edifice about 40 Feet'long, 25 brdad, and of a proportionable Height. It was new wainscoted in 1701, chiefly by the Benefaction of the late Lord Crewe, Bishop of Durham, whose Arms are placed over the Middle of the Screen, as are those of the rest of the Contributors over other parts of the Wainscot.
The Library is a very neat Room in the North Side of the Outer Court, over the Common Room. It has been new fitted up, fashed and wainscoted at the Expenfe of Sir Nathaniel Lloyd, Knt. fometime Commoner of this College, and afterwards Fellow of AllSouls. It is well furnished with Books, and there are in it fome ancient and valuable Manuscripts.
There is a good Half-length Picture of Bishop Crewe at the West end of it, and another of Sir Nathaniel Lloyd.
But what is most taken Notice of in this College, is their Chapel, which is situated on the South Side of the Inner Court, The Screen of it is of Cedar, finely carved, and is mentioned by Dr. Plott as a great Curiosity. The Windows are entirely of Painted Glass, of which there is a large one over the Altar, and four leffer on each side. In those of the South Side are the Figures of the Twelve Apostles, three in each Window, as large as Life. In the firft Window which is next the Altar, are Peter, Andrew, and James the Greater: In the 2d, John, Philip, and Bartholomew : In the 3d, Matthew, Thomas, and James the Lefs: In the 4th Jude, Simon, and Matthias.
On the other Side over against these, are the Fi. gures of twelve of the Prophets. In the first Window, rör next to the Altar, are David, Daniel, and Elijah :
In the 2d, 'Isaiah, Jeremiah, and Ezekiel : in the 3d,
The Eaft Window, which is over the Altar, contains the Types and Anti-types of our Saviour. 'It is divided into fix Partitions : In the firit, reckoning from the North, is the Creation of Man in Paradise ; and over it the Nativity of our Saviour. In the 2d, the Passing of the Il. raelites through the Red Sea; and over it, our Saviour's Baptism : In the 3d, the Jewish Passover ; and over it, the Institution of the Lord's Supper : In the 4th, the Elevation of the Brazen Serpent in the Wilderness ; and over it, our Saviour's Crucifixion : In the 5th, Jonas delivered out of the Whale’s Belly; and over it, our Saviour's Resurrection : In the 6th, Elijah going to Heaven in the Fiery Chariot ; and over it, our Saviour's Ascension.
The Cieling, which is of Cedar, is embellished with the Arms of the Founders and the Principal Benefactors ; intermixed with Cherubims, Palm-branches, Feftoons, &c. beautifully painted and gilt.
The Chapel was built in 1630, by Dr. John Williams'; at that time Bishop of Lincoln, and afterwards Archbishop of York; of whom Memorials are to be seen in feveral Places,
This College was first founded by Richard Flemming. who was born of a good Family in Yorkshire. He was educated in this University, of which he was two Years Proctor, being then Fellow of University College. In -1420, he was made Bishop of Lincoln by King Henry V. and died in 1431. He obtained the Charter of Incorporation of King Henry VI. in the fixth Year of his Reign; and in 1429 established a College, consisting of á Rector and seven Fellows, to whom he appropriated Stipends.
In the Year 1478, Thomas Scott, alias Rotherham, then Bishop of Lincoln, considering the Imperfect State of this Foundation, obtained a new Ch ter of King Edward IV. by Virtue whereof, he added five other Fel
lowships to the seven before founded, annexed to the College two Rectories, and gave them a Body of Statutes, in which he limits the Choice of the Fellows to the Dioceses of Lincoln and York, all except one, whom he would have to be of the Diocese of Wells.
But a greater Benefactor to this College was the Right Honourable Nathaniel Lord Crewe, late Bishop of Durham, who being present in the Year 1717, after contributing liberally to the Buildings which were then carrying on at Christ Church, Queen's, Worcester, and All-Souls Colleges, and to the finishing of All Saints Church, fettled by Way of a Rent-Charge free from all Deductions whatsoever, issuing out of his Manors in Northumberland and Durham, tivelve Exhibitions of 20 1. per Annum each, for Commoners of this College, whom he would have to be the Sons of Gentlemen ; and made a considerable augmentation to the annual Stipends of the Rector, Fellows, Scholars, Bible Clerk, and the Chaplains of the four appropriated Churches.
The last Benetactor was the late Dr. Hutchins, who had been many Years Rector, and who augmented the Incomes of the Scholars and Exhibitioners.
The Members of this College are usually between forty
Visitor. The Bishop of Lincoln.
Church on the North, Corpus Christi College on the South, and Christ Church on the West; the En. trance is on the West. It chiefly consists of one 'regular uniform and well-built Quadrangle. On the North Side whereof is the Library and the Provott's Lodgings, on the Eaft the Hall, and the Entrance into the Chapel, which runs Eastward from thence; and on the South and West Sides are the Chambers of the Fellows and other Students.
Opposite to the Great Gate we ascend by a large Flight of Steps, having a Portico over them, to the Hall; which
is a well proportioned Room, handsomely wainscoted, with a Doric Entablature, and adorned with three Whole. length Portraits, viz. in the Middle, at the Upper end, a very fine one of King Edward Il. enthroned with his Regalia, by Hudson; on his Right Hand, that of Qucen Anne by Dahl: and on his Left, one of the late Duke of Beaufort, in his Parliament-robes, having a Negro Servant bearing his Coronet, by Soldi.
The Chapel has that Beauty which is derived from a decent Simplicity: The large East Window, The Wife Men offering, was painted by Mr. Peckett, from a Design by the late Dr. Wall.
Through a Paliage on the North Side, we enter the Garden Court, at the End of which is a neat Building, intended for the College Library, in which also will be placed the late Lord Lee's Library, given to the Society. On either Hand is a Wing of a new Building, in a Style conformble to the Quadrangle. That on the Right was. built at the Expense of Dr. Robinson, Bihop of Lon don; and that on the Left by Dr. Carter, late Provost.
This College was founded by that learned Prince King Edward II. on Petition of Adam de Brome his Almoner, Anno 1324. who was the first Provost. King Edward III. gave the Large Messuage of Le Oriel, fituate in St. John's Parish, by which Name the College was afterwards called, and from whence it has been frequently held to be a. Royal Foundation. He likewise gave the Hospital of St. Bartholemew, near Oxford with the Lands thereunto belonging
Other Benefactors were John Frank, Master of the Rolls in the Reign of Henry VI. who gave ioool. to this College to purchase Lands for the Maintenance of four Fellow3; John Carpenter, formerly Provost, and afterwards Bishop of Worcester; William Smith, Bishop of Lincoln, and Dr. Richard Dudley, sometime Fellow, and afterwards Chancellor of the Church of Sarum, gave the College the Manor of Swainswick in Sommersetshire, for the Maintenance of two Fellows and fix Exhibitioners. Dr. John Tolson, who was Provost in
1640, was the principal Benefactor to the present Edifice, to which Purpose he gave 1.1501. and other considerable Donations. Queen Anne annexed a Prebend of Rochester to the Provost for ever. Dr. Robinson, Bi. shop of London, befides the New Building, gave 2500l. to augmens the Fellow.hips. And the late Duke of Beaufort gave iool. per Annum for four Exhibitioners. :
The present Members are a Provost, eighteen Fel.. lows, and fourteen Exhibitioners; the whole Number of Students about eighty.
Visitor. The Lord Chancellor.
CORPUS-CHRISTI COLLEGE. TORPUS-CHRISTI College stands between Chrift.
Church on the West, Merton College on the East, and Oriel College on the North ; consisting of one Quadrangle, an elegant Pile of Modern Buildings, erected in 1706 by Dr. Turner, who was Presid of the College, in which are pleasant and Commodious Rooms which look into Merton and Christ Church Meadows, and a Cloyster adjoining also a neat Structure which looks Eastwards, towards Merton College Grove, which are the Apartments appropriated to Gentlemen Commoners, whose Number the Founder has confined to Six,
On the East Side of the Quadrangle is the Hall, which is 50 Feet long, and 25 broad, and of a proportionable Height, with beautiful Gothic Rafters.
The Cylindrical Dial in the Quadrangle is set at Right Angles with the Horizon, the Common Sections whereof, with the Hour Circles, except the Meridian Circle that divides it by the Axis, as also the Equinoctial, are all Ellipses, and is a fine old Piece of Gnomonics. On the Column is a perpetual Kalendar.
The Chapel, is 70 Feet in Length, and 25 in Breadth, the Altar-Piece and Screen are of Cedar.
The Library is well furnished with Books, particularly a large Collection of Tracts from the Reformation to the Revolution; about 300 MSS; an English Bible, sup