« PreviousContinue »
were nominated to them. The 101st Studentship was added by William Thurston, Efq; 1663, and is now in the Gift of the Vernon Family. Several Exhibia. tions were given by Lady Holford for Scholars educated at the Charter-House, and more by other Benefactors.
Visitor. The King.
PEMBROKE COLLEGE. EMBROKE College, fo called from the Earl
of Pembroke, Charxcellor of the University at the: Time it was founded, is fituated near St. Aldate's Church, in a direct Line from the Grand Gate of Christ Church, and consists of two small Courts. The Quadrangle is uniform, having the Hall at the Northwest Angle, in which are Pictures of the Founders and! some Benefactors. The Chapel is a small, elegant: Building, of the Ionic Order, with a beautiful AltarPiece. In the Garden, which is Weft of the Chapel, is a pleasant Common Room, and a Terrace walk. The Master's Lodgings, which join to the College on the. North, is a modern Edifice.
This College, formerly Broadgate Hall, was found-ed An. 1620, by Tho. Tefdale, of Glymptony: Efq; and Richard W bitwick, S.T.B. Rector of. Uney, Berks, for a Master, ten Fellows and ten Scholars. Four of Mr. Tefdale's Fellows to be chosen out of his Relations, and the rest to come from Abingdon Free School.
As to Mr. Whitwick's Benefaction, two of the Fellows and two Scholars to be of his Kindred, and the rest from Abingdon School.
King Charles I. granted to this Society the perpetual Advowfon of St, Aldate's Church ; and certain. Lands, for the Maintenance of one Fellow, to be. ehosen from Guernsey or Jersey.
Archbishop Abbot, Juliana Stafford, and Francis Rous, were the next Benefactors; and Dr. George Morley, Bishop of Winchester, founded five Scholarships for the Natives of Guernsey and Jersey.
Queen Anne annexed a Prebend of Gloucester to the Mastership. Lady Holford gave two Exhibitions of 20/. a Year each; Dr. Hall, Master of this College, and Bishop of Bristol, built the Master's Lodgings; Sir John Bennet, Lord Offulftone, endowed two Fellowihips and Scholarships ; Mr. Townshend gave cight Exhibitions to young Scholars from Gloucefterthire; and Sir John Philips, Bart. in 1749, founded one Fellowship and one Scholarship.
The present Members are a Master, fourteen Fellows, 30 Scholars and Exhibitioners; the whole Number of Students usually about 70.
Visitor. The Chancellor of the University.
H A L L S.
IVE Halls or Academical Houses, not incorpo
rated, are still remaining. Originally the Students lived chiesty in Halls or Hotels, where Professors and Tutors resíded. But when the Colleges were founded, and still more, when the Reformation took place, the liberal Education, now in Ufe, brought the Students to the more convenient Accommodation in Colleges. These Societies are not endowed, though they have had considerable Benefactions, which are dil pensed to the Students in Exhibitions, which they en. joy, for a stated Time. They are under the Government of their respective Principals, whose Incomes arise from the Room-rent of the Chambers. The Students take an Oath to obey the Statutes and Customs of the Hall, which Statutes are made and altered by the Chancellor, who has the Nomination of the Prin
cipals, and is Visitor of all the Halls, except St. Edmund Hall, which is dependant on Queen's College, and the Principal appointed by that Society, .
ST. ALBAN HALL.
1. ST. ALBAN HALL, which is in St. John's Parish, adjoins to Merton College on the East. It had its Name from Robert de St. Alban, a Citizen of Oxford, who conveyed the Premises to the Abbey of Littlemore. Of this Hall were Archbishop Marsh; Dr. Lamplugh, Archbishop of York; Benedict Barnham, Alderman of London, who built the Front of the Hall as it is at present; and William Lenthall, Speaker of the Long Parliament.
ST. EDMUND HALL. II. ST. EDMUND HALL is opposite to the East Side of Queen's, to which College it is dependant, and has about 25 Students. The Buildings were compleated, and other considerable Improvements made while the late Dr. Shaw, that eminent Traveller, was Principal. Of this Hall were Dr. John Mill, who published the Greek Teftament, printed at the Theatre; and Thomas Hearne, M. A. that diligent Antiquary.
III. New-INN-HALL stands at the West End of the City, near the Church of St. Peter in the Bailey It was formerly called Trillock’s-Inn from John Trillock Bishop of Hereford, who built it in the Year 1349. Opposite this Hall is the Gateway of a College of Monks of the Augustine Order, in which Erasmus resided two Years. He left an elegant Latin Poem on his Manner of Living there, D 6.
ST. MARY HALL. IV. ST. MARY HALL is fituated North of Oriel College, near the High-Sreet. It consists of one Quadrangle, with a Garden inclosed in the Middle of it. It is formed by the Principal's Lodgings on the North, the Hall and Chapel on the South, and on the East and Weft by the Chambers of the Students.
This Hall was erected by King Edward. II. Some Exhibitions have been given to affift the Students in the Prosecution of their Studies.
Several eminent Men have refided here, viz. Cardinal Allen, Sir Thomas Moore, Erasmus, Mr. Sandys the celebrated English Poet and Traveller, &c.
MAGDALEN HALL. V. MAGDALEN HALL is adjoining to the West Side of Magdalen College, to which it is an Appendant. The Number of Exhibitions given to this Hall fupplies it with many Members. It was erected by William Wainfleet, the Founder of Magdalen College and has a large Gammar School joined to it, intended as a Nursery for Magdalen College. Lord Chancellor Clarendon, the famous Historian, who was also Chancellor of the University, was educated at this Halle The Number of Students is generally about 40.
OXFORD TERM S. Hilary Term begins January 14.Ends on Saturday before Palm-Sunday,
Eafter Term begins on Wednesday after Low Sunday-Ends on Thursday before Whitsunday.
Act Term begins on Wednesday after Trinity Sunday.Ends on Saturday after Act Sunday.
Michaelmas Term begins October the roth, Ends December 17th,
The Late and Present GOVERNORS
Of the respective
COLLEGES and HALLS
Late and present Presidents of Magdalen College. 1745. Thomas Jenner, D. D. 1768. George Horne, D.D.
Late and present Masters of University College. 1744. John Browne, D. D. 1764. Nathan Wetherell, D.D.
Late and present Provosts of Queen's College. 1756. Joseph Browne, D.D. 1767. Thomas Fothergill, D., D.
Late and present Wardens of All Souls College, 1726. Stephen Niblett, D.D. 1767. The Honourable John Tracy, D. D. Late and present Principals of Brasenose College. 1777. Thomas Barker, D. D. 1785. William Cleaver, D, D.
Late and present Principals of Hertford College. 1757. David Durell, D.D. 3775. Bernard Hodgson, LL. D.