Body Language: The must-read forensic mystery set in Camden Town

Front Cover
Bonnier Zaffre Ltd., Nov 26, 2020 - Fiction - 400 pages
1 Review
Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified
For fans of Tess Gerritsen and Kathy Reichs comes a gripping debut thriller introducing Camden's most exciting new forensic investigator.

'SPELLBINDING STORYTELLING' VAL MCDERMID
'A FIRST-RATE CRIME NOVEL ... I LOVED IT' ELLY GRIFFITHS
'LIKE SILENT WITNESS BUT MUCH MORE BELIEVABLE' SUSI HOLLIDAY

Mortuary technician Cassie Raven believes the dead can talk. We just need to listen . . .

Cassie Raven is used to people thinking her job is strange - why would anyone want to cut up dead bodies for a living? But they don't know what she knows: that the dead want to tell us what happened to them.

She's eviscerated thousands of bodies, but never someone she knew, someone who meant a lot to her - until now.

The pathologist says her death was an accident. Her body is telling Cassie differently.

Praise for Body Language:
'Blackly humorous, with a fabulously one-of-a-kind protagonist' Heat Magazine
'Ingenious and sardonically written' Financial Times
'[A] gritty novel with an engaging heroine' Sunday Times
'A terrific, well-placed plot' Spectator
'Cassie Raven is a lot of fun to spend time with' Big Issue
'Excellent fun, compulsive and Cassie Raven is a protagonist I want to meet again soon' James Oswald
'Cassie Raven is a blast of fresh air, striding onto the crime scene like a punk superstar' Sarah Hilary
'Move over Silent Witness - Cassie Raven is an utterly compelling contemporary forensic heroine' Isabelle Grey
'A fresh and exciting new series' Claire McGowan
'One of the best series openers I've read in years' Jane Casey
 

What people are saying - Write a review

Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - linda.a. - LibraryThing

Twenty-five-year old Goth Cassie Raven, with her dyed, partly shaved hair, multiple piercings, tattoos and an inherent distrust of the police, is the likeable protagonist of this engaging and ... Read full review

Selected pages

Contents

Chapter
Chapter Four
Chapter Seven
Chapter
Chapter Thirteen
Chapter Fifteen
Chapter Eighteen
Chapter Twenty
Chapter TwentyTwo
Chapter TwentyFive
Chapter TwentySeven
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2020)

A.K. Turner's latest crime fiction series features forensic sleuth Cassie Raven, who was first introduced in two short stories broadcast on BBC Radio 4. She also works as a TV producer and writer making documentaries on a range of subjects from history to true crime. A.K. has lived in East London since its prehipster days and recently qualified as a City of London walks guide so that she can share her passion for the city's 2,000-year history; her specialist subject - crime and punishment!

Bibliographic information