Body Language: 'Spellbinding storytelling' Val McDermid

Front Cover
Bonnier Zaffre Ltd., Nov 26, 2020 - Fiction - 400 pages
'Spellbinding storytelling' Val McDermid
'A first-rate crime novel . . . I loved it' Elly Griffiths
'One of the best series openers I've read in years' Jane Casey

For fans of Tess Gerritsen and Kathy Reichs comes a gripping debut thriller introducing Camden's most exciting new forensic investigator.

Cassie Raven believes the dead can talk. We just need to listen . . .

People think being a mortuary technician is a seriously weird job. They can't understand why I choose to cut up dead bodies for a living. But they don't know what I know:

The dead want to tell us what happened to them.

I've eviscerated thousands of bodies, but never someone I know before - someone who meant a lot to me; someone I loved.

The pathologist says that her death was an accident.

Her body is telling me differently.

Praise for Body Language:

'Blackly humorous, with a fabulously one-of-a-kind protagonist' Heat Magazine

'Ingenious and sardonically written' Financial Times

'[A] gritty novel with an engaging heroine' Sunday Times

'A terrific, well-placed plot' Spectator

'Cassie Raven is a lot of fun to spend time with' Big Issue

'Excellent fun, compulsive and Cassie Raven is a protagonist I want to meet again soon' James Oswald

'Cassie Raven is a blast of fresh air, striding onto the crime scene like a punk superstar' Sarah Hilary

'Move over Silent Witness - Cassie Raven is an utterly compelling contemporary forensic heroine' Isabelle Grey

'A fresh and exciting new series' Claire McGowan

'I loved it. It was awesome! Dark humour and gore galore - Cassie Raven is my new favourite character . . . it was like Silent Witness, but much more believable' Susi Holliday
 

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Selected pages

Contents

Chapter
Chapter Four
Chapter Seven
Chapter
Chapter Thirteen
Chapter Fifteen
Chapter Eighteen
Chapter Twenty
Chapter TwentyThree
Chapter TwentySix
Chapter TwentyNine
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2020)

A.K. Turner's first foray into crime fiction was a detective thriller trilogy, written under the pen name Anya Lipska, following the adventures of Janusz Kiszka, a fixer to London's Polish community. All three books won critical acclaim and were twice optioned as a possible TV series. In her other life as a TV producer and writer, A.K. makes documentaries and drama-docs on subjects as diverse as the Mutiny on the Bounty, the sex lives of Neanderthals, and Monty Don's Italian Gardens.