Castles of Scotland

Front Cover
BBC Books, 1987 - History - 150 pages
0 Reviews
Scotland's past is intricately bound up with her fine heritage of castles, and in this book Ian Grimble examines the architecture and history of twelve of the country's most splendid examples: Edinburgh, Stirling, Blair, Inveraray, Culzean, Glamis, Brodie, Craigievar, Fyvie, Thirlestane, Floors and Dunrobin. Taking us on a chronological journey from medieval times up to the present day, the author describes how each castle has grown or declined in prosperity and importance through the centuries - at different periods seats of kings, places of refuge, targets for invasion or simply monuments of wealth. These magnificent buildings are paid a fitting tribute in this authoritative and beautifully illustrated book, based on Ian Grimble's BBC television series.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Bibliographic information