The Art of Computer Programming: Seminumerical algorithms

Front Cover
Addison-Wesley, 1981 - Computers - 688 pages
41 Reviews
V.1 - Fundamentals algorithms: Basic concepts. Algorithms. Mathematical preliminaries. MIX. Some fundamental programming techniques. Information structures. Linear lists. Trees. Multilinked structures. Dynamic storage allocation. History and bibliography. Random numbers. Generating uniform random numbers. Statistical tests. Other types of random quantities. What is a random sequence? Summary. Arithmetic. Positional number systems. Floating-point arithmetic. Multiple-precision arithmetic. Radix conversion. Rational arithmetic. Polynomial arithmetic. Manipulation of power series. v. 2. Seminumerical algorithms. Random numbers. Arithmetic.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: The Art of Computer Programming, Volumes 1-3 Boxed Set (Art of Computer Programming)

User Review  - Kully - Goodreads

Ok, so there are very few people who have 'read' this. But I've had this for years and still reach for it for reference and just browsing. Read full review

Review: The Art of Computer Programming, Volumes 1-3 Boxed Set (Art of Computer Programming)

User Review  - Frank - Goodreads

Exquisitely dense and almost impossibly difficult to the point of unintelligibility for most humans, including people with a degree in CS. Read full review


Chapter 3Random Numbers
Chapter 4Arithmetic
Answers to Exercises

2 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1981)

Donald E. Knuth is known throughout the world for his pioneering work on algorithms and programming techniques, for his invention of the Tex and Metafont systems for computer typesetting, and for his prolific and influential writing. Professor Emeritus of The Art of Computer Programming at Stanford University, he currently devotes full time to the completion of these fascicles and the seven volumes to which they belong.