Collected Poems, 1936-1976

Front Cover
University of Massachusetts Press, Oct 11, 1985 - Poetry - 304 pages
Gathered here in their entirety are the seven previous volumes of Robert Francis poetry - Stand with Me Here, Valhalla and Other Poems, The Sound I Listened For, The Face against the Glass, The Orb Weaver, Come Out into the Sun, and Like Ghosts of Eagles - together with a group of recent poems, many not previously published but "saved" to end this volume on a note of newness.

Because the original seven volumes are kept in chronological order, the reader can follow the author's journey from his quiet early work to poetry of greater color, warmth, vitality, vivacity, and sportiveness; and can note just when and where Francis' style becomes more and more diversified, with word-count, fragmented surface, and the celebration of words themselves.

The book is graced with eight wood engravings by Wang Hui-Ming.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

About the author (1985)

A nationally acclaimed poet, Robert Francis was awarded the Academy of American Poets Fellowship in 1984 for "distinguished poetic achievement." His other honors include the Rome Prize Fellowship given by the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the Shelley Award of the Poetry Society of America, the Golden Rose Award of the New England Poetry Club, the Amy Lowell Poetry Traveling Scholarship, and the Brandeis Creative Arts Award. The University of Massachusetts Press named its annual Juniper Prize in honor of Francis, who for many years lived at Fort Juniper in Amherst.

Bibliographic information