« PreviousContinue »
11. Thomas Tanner, D. D. Bishop of St. Afaph, 1696.
12. James Goldwell, LL. D. Bishop of Norwich, and Secretary of State to Edward IV. 1441.
13. Gilbert Sheldon, D. D. Archbishop of Canterbury, and Chancellor of the University, 1622.
14. Brian Duppa, D. D. Bishop of Winchester, Preceptor to Charles II. when Prince of Wales, and Lord Almoner, 1612.
15. David Pole, LL. D. Dean of the Arches and Bishop of Peterborough, 1520.
16. Jeremy Taylor, D. D. Bishop of Down and Connor. 1635.
17. John Norris, A. M. Rector of Bemerton, Wilts, 1680.
18. Thomas Sydenham, M. D. 1648.
19. Thomas Lynaker, M. D. Founder of the College of Physicians, London, 1484.
20. Sir Clement Edmonds, Knight, A. M. Secretary of the Council, in the Reign of James I. and Burgess for the University, 1590.
21. Sir William Byrde, Knight, LL. D. Dean of the Arches and Burgess for the University, 1578.
22. Sir. Nathaniel Lloyd, Knight, LL. D. Judge Advocate and Master of Trinity Hall in Cambridge, 1689.
23. Robert Hovenden, D. D. Warden of All-Souls, 1565.
24. Sir John Mafon, Knight, M. B. Privy Councellor to Henry VIII. Edward VI. Queen Mary and Queen Elizabeth, and the first Lay Chancellor of the Univerfity of Oxford, 1521.
Over the great Door is a very fine Buft of the Founder, Archbishop Chicheley, in white Marble; done by Mr. Roubilliac. The Elegance of the Room, and the Choiceness of the Collection, con
lifting greatly of scarce and foreign Books, make this esteemed one of the best Libraries in Oxford.
The Statue of that generous Benefactor, Colonel Codrington, is erected in the Middle of the Library, on a Pedestal of veined Marble; this Part of the Building being twice the Breadth of the rest. It appears by an Inscription on the Pedestal, that the Colonel died Anno 1710, and that the Statue was erected in the Year 1730. The Area, or wide Space in the Middle of the Building, divides it in a manner into two Rooms.
The Hall is an elegant Room, in which are the Portraits of Archbishop Chicheley, Founder; Colonel Godrington, and Sir Nathaniel Lloyd. At the upper End of the Room, under the Founder's Picture, is a Piece of Sir James Thornhills representing the finding of the Law, and Josiah renting his Cloaths, from 2 Kings xxii. 11 Over the Chimneypiece, which is a very neat one of Dove-coloured Marble, is a Bust of the Founder, and on one side of him Lynaker, and on the other John Leland, the
famous Antiquarian and Author of the Itinerary · who, as Mr, Hearne informs us, was a Member of
this Society. This Room is ornamented with many other Bufts, which are chiefly copies from antique Originals.
The College Buttery, which is divided by a Pasfage from the Hall, is a very pretty Room, of an oval Form, with an arch'd Stone Roof of very curious Work.
The Common Room is a very good one, being a Cube of 26 Feet, and lighted by a large Venetian Window.
The Warden's Lodgings, which front the HighStreet, and are contiguous to the rest of the Col
in a very elegant Manner, in the Gothic Taste ;
lege, is a handsome House, late the Dwelling of George Clarke, LL. D. a great Benefactor.
The Private Apartments of the College are generally very neat and convenient. The Room in the old Quadrangle, which was formerly the Library (before the new one above described was finished) is lately fitted up, by one of the Fellows, and is deservedly esteemed one of the Curiosities of the House,
The Founder of this College, Dr. Henry Chicheley, was born at Higham Ferrers in Northamptonshire ; and having had his School Learning in that Town, was, in the Year 1387, made by William of Wykeham, one of his first Sett of Fellows at New College in Oxford, where he took the Degree of Doctor of Civil Law. He was made Archdeacon of Sarum, and afterwards Chancellor of the same Church and becoming known to Henry IV. was sent on several Embaffies by that Monarch, and advanced first to the Bishopric of St. David's, in which having continued five Years, he was translated on July 29, 1414, to the See of Canterbury, of which he remained Archbishop twenty-nine Years. He laid the Foundation of All-Souls College in 1437; the Charter of Incorporation is dated May 20, 16 Henry VI. in which it is called Collegium Animarum omnium Fidelium defunétorum de Oxon. that is, The College of the Souls of all Faithful People des parted of Oxford.
By the Statutes he gave this College, he appointed forty Fellows, whereof twenty-four were directed to ftudy Divinity and Philosophy, and the other fixteen' the Civil and Canon Law. He procured from King Henry VI. a Grant of the Lands and
Revenues of several diffolved Priories to endow his College, and in his Life-time erected the Chapel, and all the rest of the Buildings (except some very modern ones) which cost him 4545 l. and at his Death gave to the Society the Sums of 134 l. 6s. 8d. and 100 Marks.
The moft considerable Benefactors, next to the Founder, have been Colonel Christopher Codrington, Governour of the Leeward Ipands, and Fellow of All-Souls, already mentioned; George Clarke, LL. D. the late Duke of Wharton; Doddington Greville, Efq; Lieutenant General Stewart, and Sir Nathaniel Lloyd, who, at the Time that he was Fellow of this College, was Head of a College in Cambridge. The Colonel bequeathed 6000 l. for building the noble Library already described, his own valuable Study of Books, and 4000 l. more to purchafe new ones; and Dr. Clarke gave his beautiful House, &c. for the Use of the Warden successively of the College. He also much augmented the Chaplainships.
In this College are one Warden, forty Fellows, two Chaplains, and nine Clerks.
A very peculiar Custom is the celebrating the Mallard'Night, every Year, on the 14th of January, in Remembrance of an exceffive large Mallard or Drake, suppos’d to have long rang’d in a Drain or Sewer where it was found at the Digging for the Foundation of the College. A very autheutic Account of this Event hath lately been retriev'd, and published to the learned World, from a Manuscript of Thomas Walfingham the Historian, and Monk of St. Albans. It is the Cause of much Mirth, for on the Day, and in Remembrance of the Mallard, is always sung a merry old Song lèt to ancient Music.
Visitor. The Archbishop of Canterbury.
BRAS EN-NOSE COLLEG B.
TORMS the West-Side of the Radelif
Square. Was founded in the Year 1507, by the joint Benefaction of William Smith, Bishop of Lincoln, and Richard Sutton, Knight. Over the Gate are the Arms of the latter.,
The most probable Account of the uncommon Name of this College seems to be this: The Founders purchas’d from University College, for the Scite of their intended Building, two ancient Seats of Learning, Brasen-Nose and Little University Halls; or, as the last was more commonly calid, BlackHall. Both these are suppos’d to have received their respective Names from some Students, who removed thither from two such Seminaries in the temporary University of Stamford. And Anthony Wood says the Stamford Seminary was callid BrasenNose from an Iron Ring fix'd in a Nose of Brass serving as a Knocker to the Gate; which is said to be remaining there at this time.
But another Antiquary, Dr. White Kennet, fays that it was originally a Copper-Nose, or a red carbuncled-Nose, which was commonly expos’d as a Sign to fome Hofpitiá, or Houses of Entertainment; and from thence probably, the Hotel, or Hall at Oxford, as well as the other at Stamford, had its Denomination.
The Founders, with a view to both these ancient Seats of Learning, order'd their new Seminary to be called, The King's Hall and College of Brafen-Nose. Agreeable to its Antiquity, as University - Hall, there are still over the Door of the Refectory