« PreviousContinue »
different Cast to this, being so contrived as not to fatiate the Eye at once, but its various Parts present themselves gradually to view. No Spot is calculated to yield a more pleasing Variety.
This College was founded by Sir Thomas White, Alderman and Merchant-Taylor of London ; and afterwards Anno 1557. he endowed it with several considerable Manors, and at his Death bequeathed the Sum of 3000 l. to purchase Lands to increase the Revenues of it. He originally designed Merchant-Taylors School in London for the only Seminary of this College ; but being of a more public Spirit than to confine himself to any one Place, he allowed two Fellowships to the City of Coventry, two to. Bristol, two also to the Town of Reading, and one to Tunbridge.
The moft confiderable Benefactors fince, have been Sir William Paddy, who founded and endowed the Choir, and built that Side of the new Quadrangle, of which the Library is a Part. Archbishop Laud, who at the Expence of above 5000 l. (exclusive of 400 l. for the Statues of the King and Queen, and 200 Ton of Timber which he obtained by Warrant from Shotover Forest and Stow Wood) added the other three Sides. Archbishop Juxon, who gave 7000l. to this College ; Dr. Gibbons, who bequeathed the perpetual Advowson of the Living of Baynton in Yorkshire, and 1000 h. to buy Books ; Dr. Holmes, the late worthy President, with his Lady, who gave 15000 l. to augment the Salaries of the Officers, and other Uses, and Dr. Rawlinson, who bequeathed a considerable Number of Books, and the Reversion of an Efate in FeeFarm Rents,
The present Members are a President, fifty Fel· lows, two Chaplains, an Organist, five SingingMen, fix Choristers, and two Sextons. "The Number of Students of all Sorts being usually about sixty.
Visitor. The Bishop of Winchester,
Worcester College is pleasantly situated on an
Eminence, just above the River Isis and the Meadows, at the Extremity of the Western Suburb. At entering into the College, we have the Chapel and Hall on each Side, both of which are 29
Feet in Breadth, and 55 in Length: These are just built. * The Library, which is a magnificent Ionic Edifice, on the West of the Chapel and Hall, is 100 Feet in Length, supported by a spacious Cloister. It is furnished with a fine Collection of Books, chiefly the Library of Dr. Clarke, late Fellow of All Souls College ; 'in which was Inigo Jones's Palladio, with his own Manuscript Notes. The Dr. also settled 50 l. per Ann. to buy Books. According to the Plan proposed, this College is to consist of a spacious Building. The Chambers of the Fellows and Scholars on the North and South, and the Gardens, which are to lie on a Descent to the River, on the West: The Apartment of the Provost is to be at the North-West Angle. From whence this College will enjoy not only the pleasanteft Situation, but be one of the most elegant Structures in the University.
The College was founded Anno 1714. by Sir. Thomas Cookes, for a Provost, fix Fellows, and fix Scholars.
Dr Finney farther endowed it with two Fellowships and two Scholarships for Students from Staffordshire. Dr. Clarke founded fix Fellowships and three Scholarships, with a Preference to Clergymen's Sons. And Mrs. Eaton, Daughter to Dr. Eaton, Principal of Glocester Hall founded fix Fellowships. Lady Holford gave two Exhibitions of 201. a Year each, for Charter-House Scholars, to be enjoy'd Eight Years.
This House was formerly called Glocester College, being a Seminary for educating the Novices of Glocester Monastery. It was founded A. D. 1283, by John Giffard, Baron of Brimsfield. When suppressed, at the Reformation, it was converted into a Palace for the Bishop of Oxford; but was foon afterwards erected into an Academical Hall, by. Sir Thomas White, the Founder of St. John's College; in which State it continued, 'till it received a Charter of Incorporation and an Endowment from Sir Thomas Cookes.
Here are one Provost, twenty Fellows, eleven Scholars, &c. The whole Number about 40.
Visitor, The Chancellor of the University.
the Front whereof is 220 Feet long, in the Center of which is a magnificent Gate and Tower over it. The Composition of each Front (viz. that towards the Street and that towards the Quadrangle) is a Rukic Basement which forms the Gateway; a Plinth whereupon are placed four Pilasters of the Ionic Order, supporting a semicircular Pediment, in the Area of which are the Founder's Arms on a Shield adorned with Feftoons; finishing with sa Balustrade above all. This, with the beautiful arched Roof of the Gateway, is justly esteemed an elegant Piece of Workmanship. The Building within chiefly consists of a large Quadrangle, formed by the Hall, the Chapel, the Rector's Lodgings, and the Chambers of the Fellows and Scholars, and is regular and uniform.
The Gardens are neatly dispos'd, and though within the Town, have an airy and pleasant Opening to the East; with a Terras, from whence we have a View of some of the finest Buildings in the University.
The Library is well furnished with Books in the several Arts and Sciences; and a very valuable Collection of Classicks, given by Edward Richards, Esquire.
Sir John Acland built the Hall in 1681, and Dr. Hakewell, first Fellow and afterwards Rector, founded the Chapel in the Year 1624.
Walter Stapledon, Bishop of Exeter, Lord Treafurer of England, and Secratary of State to King
Edward II. 1316, obtained a Charter for founding a College where Hertford College now stands ; but wanting Room for the Buildings he designed, he removed his Scholars to the prefent House, and gave it the Name of Stapledon-Hall
, after his own Name. He founded a Society consisting of Thirteen, i. e. A Rector and twelve Fellows; one of whom, the Chaplain, to be appointed by the Dean and Chapter of Exeter ; eight to be elected out of the Archdeaconries of Exeter, Totness and Barnstaple in Devonshire, and four out of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall.
Among the subsequent Benefactors was Edmund Stafford, Bishop of Èxeter, who obtained leave to alter the Name of this House, and settled two Fellowships for the Diocese of Sarum. Sir William Petre in Queen Elizabeth's Time obtained a new Charter and Statutes, founded eight Fellowships for such Counties wherever he then had, or his Heirs at any Time after should have Estates; which by this Time comprehends most of the Counties in England. King Charles I. added one Fellowship for the Islands of Jersey and Guernsey. And by Mrs. Shiers's Benefaction, as completed and settled by Dr. Hugh Shortridge, two other Fellowships were added, confin'd to the Counties of Hertford and Surrey; besides considerable Augmentations to the Revenues of the Society.
The present Members are a Rector, 25 Fellows, one Scholar, who is Bible Clerk, two Exibitioners ; The whole Number of Members about Eighty.
Visitor. The Bishop of Exeter.