Page images
PDF
EPUB

in a Vision, supported by Angels, by Annibal Caracci. An Ecce Homo, by Ludovico Caracci. A Medusa's Head, by Rubens.' The Pale of an Altar, with Figures larger than the Life, by Correggio. Two Half Lengths of Women, by Domenichino.

Upon a Pedestal, in the Recess on the North Side of the upper Apartment, is an admirable Sta- tue of Mr. Locke, formerly Student of this House, by Roubillac.

Canterbury Court, formerly Canterbury College, is a small irregular Court, East of Peckwater, confisting of ordinary Buildings, but which contain good Apartments

The Chaplains Court is situated South-East of the grand Quadrangle, on the North Side whereof is the old Library, which was the Hall or Refectory of St. Frideswide's Priory.

The Court of the Grammar School is South of the great Quadrangle, having the Hall on the North Side of it. Under Part of the Hall is the Common Room, very spacious, in which is a superb Marble Chimney-Piece, and over it an excellent Buft, by Ryforác, of Dr. Busby, formerly Mafter of Weftminster School, à considerable Benefactor to the College. Round the Room are the Pictures of fe

veral of the Masters of the fame School, and other - eminent Men belonging to the College. On the

South Side is the New Anatomical Theatre, erected and endowed by the late Dr. Lee, Physician to King George II. at the Expence of 20,000l. with a proper Stipend to the Lecturer, &c. In it is a fine Collection of Anatomical Preparations and Injections. There is also an elegant Range of Buildings, usually called Fellos, looking towards the

Gravel

[ocr errors]

Gravel Walk. The Gravel Walk, planted on each Side with Elms, deserves our Notice, being a Quarter of a Mile in Length, and of a proportionable Breadth. It commands a pleasant Prospect of the Meadows, the Thames, and some adjacent Villages.

This College was founded by Cardinal Wolfey, upon the Place where formerly stood the Priory of St. Frideswide, which, with several other religious Foundations, were diffolved, in order to endow the new College intended by the Cardinal. The Defign was far from being compleated at the Time of the Cardinal's Disgrace, little more being built than the East, South, and Part of the West Sides of the great Quadrangle, and the Kitchen. And as to the Foundation itself, whatever it might be at that Time, 'tis certain it was afterwards leffened, and the Form of it altered two or three Times by the King. The Difgrace of the Cardinal happened in the Year 1529, when the King seized upon this College, as well as the other Eftates belonging to the Cardinal. In the Year 1532, at the Inftance of Lord Cromwell, the King new-modelled the Foundation, and gave it the Name of King Henry the Eighth's College. This was suppressed in 1545, and in the Year following, 1546, the Epifcopal See was removed from Ofeney to this College, and the Church of St. Frideswide conftituted a Cathedral, by the Name of Christ's Church.

This Foundation has continued in the same Form ever fince. It consists of a Dean, eight Canons, 101 Students (four or five of which are clected annually from Westminster School, and the other Vacancies, as they happen, are filled up by the Canons) 8 Chaplains, 8 Singing-Men, and as many Choristers, a Schoolmaster, an Ulher, an Or

gainst,

ganist, &c. Since the Time of Queen Elizabeth, this College has largely experienced the Bounty of several Benefactors, particularly Bishop Fell, who left ten Exhibitions of 10l. per Ann. to Commoners, whose good Behaviour for a Year should recommend them to the Favour of the College, and to be held for ten Years from the Time they were nominated to them. The 101st Studentship was added by William Thurston, Efq; 1663, and is now in the Gift of the Vernon Family. Several Exhibitions of 13 l. per Ann. were given by Lady Holford, for Scholars educated at the Charter-Houfe ; and several more by other Benefactors.

Visitor. The King.

3

PEMBROKE COLLEGE. PEmbroke College, fo called from the Earl of

Pembroke, Chancellor of the University at the Time it was founded, is situated near St. Aldate's Church, in a direct Line from the Grand Gate of Chrift Church, and consists of two small Courts. The Quadrangle is neat and uniform, having the Hall at the North-West Anglė, in which are Pictures of the Founders and some Benefactors. The Chapel is a small, elegant Building, of the Ionic Order, with a beautiful Altar-piece. In the Garden, which is West of the Chapel, is 'a pleasant Common Room, and a Terrace-walk. The Master's Lodgings, which join to the College on the North, is a handsome modern Edifice,

This

This College, formerly Broadgate Hall, was founded An. 1620, by Tho. Tesdale, of Glympton, Esq; and Richard Whitwick, S. T. B. Rector of Illey, Berks, for a Master, ten Fellows, and ten Scholars. Four of Mr. Tesdale's Fellows to be chosen out of his Relations, and the rest to come from Abingdon Free School.

As to Mr. Whitwick’s Benefaction, two of the Fellows and two Scholars to be of his Kindred, and the rest from Abingdon School.

King Charles I. granted to this Society the perpetual Advowson of St. Aldate's Church, and certain Lands, for the Maintenance of one Fellow, to be chosen from Guernsey or Jersey.

Archbishop Abbot, Juliana Stafford, and Francis · Rous were the next Benefactors, and Dr. George Morley, Bishop of Winchester, founded five SchoJarships for the Natives of Guernsey and Jersey.

Queen Anne annexed a Prebend of Gloucester to the Mastership. Lady Holford gave two Exhibitions of 201. a Year each ; Dr. Hall, Mafter of this College and Bishop of Bristol, built the Mar ster's Lodgings; Sir John Bennet, Lord Ofulftone, endowed two Fellowships and Scholarships ; Mr. Townshend gave eight Exhibitions to young Scholars from Gloucestershire ; and Sir John Phillips, Bart. in 1749, founded one Fellowship and one Scholarship "The present Members are a Master, fourteen Fellows, 30 Scholars and Exhibitioners, the whole Number of Students usually about 60.

[ocr errors]

Visitor. The Chancellor of the University.

K

DA HALLS.

cellor, who has the Nomination of the Principals,

H A L L S. NVE Halls or Academical Houses, not incorFDE

porated, are still remaining Originally the Students lived chiefly in these Academical Halls or Hotels, where Professors and Tutors refided. But when the Colleges were founded, and still more, when the Reformation took place, the liberal Education, now in Use, brought most of the Students to the more convenient Accommodation in Colleges. These Societies are not endowed, and are under the Government of their respective Principals, whose Income arises from the Roomrent of the Chambers. The Students take an Oath, to obey the Statutes and Customs of the Hall, which Statutes are made and altered by the Chan.

and is Visitor of all the Halls, except St. Edmund's Hall, which is dependant on Queen's College, the Principal of it being appointed by that Society,

ST. ALBAN HALL.

1. ST. ALBAN Hall, which is in St. John's Parish, adjoins to Merton College on the East. It was founded by Robert de St. Alban, out of Part of the Lands belonging to the Abbey of Littlemore. Of this Hall were Archbishop Marsh; Dr. Lamplugh, Archbishop of York; Benedia Barnham, AI. derman of London, who built the Front of the Hall as it is at present; and William Lenthall, Esq; Speaker of the Long Parliament.

ST.

« PreviousContinue »