The Paper Bracelet: A gripping novel of heartbreaking secrets in a home for unwed mothers

Front Cover
Headline, Feb 27, 2020 - Fiction - 384 pages

Every paper bracelet held a mother's heartbreaking secret...

The top ten bestseller, inspired by heartrending true events in a home for unwed mothers, set in Ireland, Boston and London, this novel is perfect for readers of Kathryn Hughes, Emily Gunnis and Susan Lewis.

* THE LETTER HOME, THE NEW NOVEL FROM RACHAEL ENGLISH, IS AVAILABLE TO PRE-ORDER NOW *

'Utterly moving and compelling. That first line...wow! I was hooked' Patricia Scanlan

'Fantastic storytelling looking back at Ireland's dark past' Liz Nugent

'A powerful, important, beautiful book' Sinéad Crowley

'A true storyteller who keeps you turning the pages' Cathy Kelly

'A compelling read' Sheila O'Flanagan

For almost fifty years, Katie Carroll has kept a box tucked away inside her wardrobe. It dates from her time working as a nurse in a west of Ireland home for unwed mothers in the 1970s. The box contains a notebook holding the details of the babies and young women she met there. It also holds many of the babies' identity bracelets.

Following the death of her husband, Katie makes a decision. The information she possesses could help reunite adopted people with their birth mothers, and she decides to post a message on an internet forum. Soon the replies are rolling in, and Katie finds herself returning many of the bracelets to their original owners. She encounters success and failure, heartbreak and joy. But is she prepared for old secrets to be uncovered in her own life?

Thousands of readers worldwide have lost their hearts to THE PAPER BRACELET:

'Outstanding. I was on the edge of my seat *****'

'It broke my heart. Rachael has managed to tell a truly heartbreaking story beautifully and with real grace and dignity *****'

'Beautifully written and enjoyable *****'

'I loved this book. Despite the subject matter this book is very uplifting *****'

'A beautifully written story, uncovering some untold truths *****'

'An addictive read *****'

'Could not put it down. Highly recommend *****'

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

About the author (2020)

Rachael English is a bestselling novelist and presenter on Ireland's most popular radio show, Morning Ireland. During more than twenty years as a journalist, she has worked on most of RTE Radio's leading current affairs programmes, covering a huge range of national and international stories. The American Girl, The Night of the Party and The Paper Bracelet were all top 5 Irish bestsellers.

Bibliographic information