Page images
PDF
EPUB

܀

Vintners of the City of London.” This is the eleventh of the twelve principal companies; and is governed by a master, wardens, and court of assistants.

The freemen belonging to this company have the privilege of retailing wine without a licence. They have consi. derable possessions, out of which they pay large sums anpually for the relief of the poor.

They have also an almshouse near Mile-end for twelve widows, with a chapel, Near the water side, a little to the west of Vinters' Hall, is

WORCESTER PLACE. Mr. Pennant says that this was the antient residence of the accomplished John Tiptoft, carl of Worcester, during the reigns of Henry VI. and Edward IV. But we will endeavour to prove that it was a different family who resided here.

Bartholomew, lord Burghersh, whose niece married Thomas, son of Geoffrey Chaucer, before mentioned, had a daughter and heir who married Edward Le Despencer, grand nephew of the unfortunate Hugh le Despencer, whose son Thomas was earl of Gloucester, beheaded by the rabble in Bristol, in the year 1399. This nobleman left only one daughter and heir, Isabel, who first married Richard Beauchamp, earl of Worcester, and afterwards Richard Beauchamp, his first cousin, the great earl of Warwick. The issue of Isabel was Elizabeth, who married Sir Edward Nevil, afterwards lord Bergavenny. We do not find that Tiptoft, earl of Worcester, had any possessions in London, except the office of constable of the Tower.

Nearly opposite is GARLICK Hill, at the ascent of which stands the parish church of

[merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small]

THE old church was so decayed in 1326 as to require new building; it was rebuilt by Richard Rothing, sheriff, and 7001. was laid out in repair during the year 1624. This church is a rectory, and being burnt down in 1666, was rebuilt in 1683. This church was originally in the patronage of the abbot and convent of Westminster; but coming to the crown upon the dissolution of religious houses, was granted by Mary I. to the bishop of London and his successors.

'It is built of stone, seventy-five feet long, forty-five feet broad, forty feet high to the roof, and the steeple ninetyeight feet. The tower is divided into three stages. In the lowest is a very elegant door, with coupled columns of the Corinthian order. In the second is a pretty large window, with the form of a circular one not opened over it. In the third story is a window larger than the former; and the cornice above this supports a range of open work, in the place of battlements, on a balustrade. Hence rises the turret, which is composed of four stages, and decorated with columns, scrolls, and other ornaments.

Stow mentions the monuments of the following eminent persons who were buried in the old church: Mr. Sheriff Rothing, the rebuilder. U2

Walter

[ocr errors]

Walter Nele, sheriff, 1337. John Oxenford, vintner, mayor, 1341: also Richard Lyons, a famous wine-merchant, a skilful lapidary, and sheriff of London; “ he was,” says Mr. Weever, “ drawn and haled ont of his own house, and beheaded in Cheapside, Anno 1381, by Wat Tyler, and other rebels."

The same author says, on the north wall of the church was erected a monument to the memory of Sir George Stanly, knight of the garter, and Lord Strange, son and heir of Thomas Stanley, Lord Stanley of Latham in Lancashire, and earl of Derby; Sir George died at Derby-house, now the Herald's Office, in the year 1487.

John Wroth, mayor, 1361.
John Broomer, alderman, 1474.
Lady Stanley, mother to the earl of Derby.
Countess of Huntingdon.
Lady Herbert, countess of Worcester.
William Vernor, mayor, 1389.
William Moor, mayor, 1395.
Robert Chicheley, mayor, 1421.
James Spencer, mayor, 1543.

Richard Platt, 1600; formerly sheriff of London, founder of a free school and six alms-houses at Aldenham, in the county of Hertford. · Edmund Chapman, Esq. joiner to queen Elizabeth, and keeper of the armoury at Greenwich, a benefactor to the parish, as well as to several prisons and hospitals. He died May 14, 1588.

Among the rectors of note occurs, ARTHUR BULKLEY, D. D. who was promoted to the bishopric of Bangor, in 1541. This prelate sold five bells from his cathedral; and Godwin, in his lives of the bishops, says “ that going to the sea shore to see them shipped off, he had not set three steps on his return home before he was struck with blindness, and so continued during the rest of his life.”

GREAT ST. THOMAS APOSTLE's, is a street on the brow of Garlick Hill, so called from the church which formerly stood at the east end.

At

At the corner of the street, next Garlick Hill stood a great house of stone called ORMOND PLACE, the inn of the earls of Ormond, who were paternally descended from Hervey Walter, a great baron in the reign of Henry II. and grandson of Richard de Tonbridge, baron of Dunmow, and lord of Baynard's castle. This baron had five sons: Theobald, his second son, was a person of great consideration in those times. His son, of the same name, was in high favour with Richard I. who advanced him to the office of chief butler of Ireland. The office was of such importance, that the holder transferred the name, to be the surname of his family. His son James Butler, married Elizabeth, daughter of Humphrey de Bohun, earl of Hereford and Essex, &c. and was by Edward III. created earl of Ormond in Ireland; whence descended the noble family of Butler, dukes and earls of Ormond, and other branches.

It does not appear by what means ORMOND House passed to the crown; but Edward IV. in the fifth year of his reign gave to Elizabeth, his wife, the manor of Greenwich, with the town and park, in the county of Kent. He also gave this tenement, called Ormond Place, with all the appurtenances to the same, situate in the parish of the Holy Trinity, in Knight-riders Street, in London. The mansion, which had been lately taken down, in Stow's time, was afterwards converted to divers “ fair tenements” the corner house of which was a tavern. It is now held by an.eminent tallow chandler.

On the same side of the street is a MEETING HOUSE of long, establishment, for Scottish Congregationalists, denominated SECEDERS.

These dissenters from the kirk of Scotland originated about the year 1730, with two brothers, Ralph and Ebenezer Erskine. They are rigid and austere Calvinists; and through a difference respecting civil concerns, they are divided into burghers and anti-burghers; of which divisions the latter are most confined in their sentiments, and least associate with other classes of Christians. They are, however, notwithstanding their secession, strict Presbyterians. The Reformation in Scotland, like that in England and

Germany,

Germany, struggled with a long series of opposition, and was at length gloriously triumphant. Dr. Gilbert Stuart observes, that “ The happiest and best interests of society were the objects for wbich they buckled on their armour, and to wish and to act for their duration and stability, are perhaps the most important employments of patriotism and public affection. The Reformation may suffer fluctuation in its forms, but, for the good and prosperity of mankind, it is to be hoped that it is never to yield and to submit to the errors and the superstitions it overwhelmed.”

In this street antiently stood Ringen Hall, the town mansion of the earls of Cornwall. Stow says that 6 in the reign of Edward III. a place so called, with four shops and two gardens in this parish, were granted by Edmund, earl of Cornwall to the abbey of Beaulieu, near Oxford; and regranted, and a plea thereupon in the hustings, 2 R. II.”

The historian is certainly mistaken with respect to the name of this earl of Cornwall. It appears that Richard Plantagenet, earl of Cornwall, brother to Henry III. founded the abbey of Beaulieu. His son Edmund, who founded the abbey of Hales, and gave a proportion or quantity of our Saviour's blood! was also a benefactor to Beaulieu Abbey; but died without lawful issue in the 28th of Edward I. 1300. The earldom was then bestowed by Edward II. on his favourite Pierce Gaveston ; and after his death it reverted to the royal family, when John Plantagenet, brother of Edward III. held it; but dying without issue, Edward converted it into a dukedom and attached it to the eldest sons of the kings of England, whether by birth or by the death of their elder brother, without any crea

creation. It must therefore have been John, who made the sale of Ringed Hall. Henry VIII. after the dissolution of monasteries bestowed the whole upon Morgan Philip, alias Wolfe.

Here was also an extensive house, denominated Ipres INN, which was erected for William de Ipres, who having been invited from Flanders, with a body of his countrymen to the assistance of king Stephen against the empress Maud, in 1138, grew into such fayour with his employer, that he built

for

« PreviousContinue »