« PreviousContinue »
of the Organ-lost, erected to the Memory of Two Brothers of the Name of Lyttleton, who were drowned in the River Cherviell, one by endeavouring to save the other. The whole of the Ante-Chapel has been lately adorned in an elegant Manner with a new Pulpit, Lecturer's Seat, and new Paving.
The West Window, painted in Claro Obscuro, was done after a Design of Schwartz which he made and executed for the Princess of William Duke of Bavaria, as appears by a Print lately purchased by the Society, engraved by Sadelar from the Original. It represents the Resurrection; and, by the Print, was certainly a grand Design; but the Beauty of the Painting is much impaired. Till the Time of the Civil Wars, all the Windows were painted in the fame Manner. Those now in the Chapel were removed thither from the AnteChapel in 1741'; but not being a sufficient Number to completely glaze the whole, two new ones have since been added.
The Altar-Piece was painted by Isaac fuller, an Englijh History-painter, about 120 Years ago; who having studied and admired the muscular Manner of Michael Angela, seems to have neglected the graceful Elegance of Raphael: For although many of the Figures may justly be deemed excellent Anatomical or Academy Drawings; yet for want of that easy and natural Disposition, peculiar to the last-mentioned great Master, and better Colouring, the whole appears crude and unpleasing. This Painting, however, gave occasion to the Writing of an excellent Latin Poem by Mr. Addijon, (sometime Fellow of this College) which may be seen in the Muj's Anglicana.
Underneath this Picee of the Resurrection by Fuller, is an admirable Picture of our Saviour bearing his Cross, supposed to be painted by Guido. It was taken at Vige, and brought into England by the late Duke of Ormond: But afterwards falling into the Hands of William FreeD 2 man, man, Esq; of Hamels in Hertford/hire, he gave it to the College. To this Gentleman the College is likewise chiefly obliged for an excellent Organ, two additional Bells to the Peal of Eight, and other considerable Benefactions. By his Will he bequeathed an. Organ, which then stood at Hamels, to the Music-Room in Oxford, provided there should be no Instrument ot that Kind in it at the Time of his Death; otherwise to be erected in the Hall belonging to this College: But the former happening to be the Cafe, it accordingly went thither; for which the Public and Musical Society are obliged to him.
The Altar has been built, in the present Manner, a few Years only; the Design is elegant, and the Workmanship well performed: Besides the common Embellishments of the Corinthian Order, there are Festoons over every Pannel (extremely well carved) which greatly enrich it.
Each Window contains six Figures, nearly as large as the Life, representing the Apostles, primitive Fathers, Saints and Martyrs. Many think this Room rather too dark at sirst entering it, but afterwards are better reconciled: The Occasion of that Opinion is, undoubtedly, the Contrast between this and the AnteChapel, which they pass through to it, and which is extremely light. Cathedral Service is performed here every Day at Ten and Four, except Sundays and Holidays, and then the Morning Prayers begin at Eight, on Account of the University Sermon.,
From hence, on the Right, we pass into the Cloyster which encompasses the great Quadrangle, and remains in it's primitive State: The whole making the most venerable Appearance of any College in Oxford, having undergone the fewest Alterations of any since it was sounded. On the South Side are the Hall and Chapel; on the West the Library; and on the North and East, the Lodgings of the Fellows, Demies, &c. At the
SouthSouth-east Corner of the Cloyster, is the Way up to the Hall; which is a very spacious Room, handsomelysitted up, and adorned with four whole length Pourtraits, viz. of the Founder, Dr. Butler the late President, William Freeman, Esq; and Prince Rupert; two Half-lengths, viz. Bishop Warner, a great Benefactor to the Library, and Dr. Hammond.
The interiour Part of this Quadrangle is ornamented with Hieroglyphics, of which, (though a celebrated Antiquary* hath been pleased to call them whimsical Figures, which serve to amuse the Vulgar, but are only the licentious Inventions of the Mason,) we shall here give a particular, and, we trust, a rational Account, from a Latin f Manuscript in the Library of this College.
'Beginning, therefore, from the South-west Corner, 'the two sirst Figures we meet with are the Lion, and 'the Pelican. The former of these is the Emblem of 'Courage and Vigilance, the latter of parental Tenderness, 'and dffeftion. Both of them together express to u*
* the complete Character of a good Governor of a
* College. Accordingly they are placed under the * * Window of those Lodgings, which, originally, be
* longed to the President, as the Instructions they con'vey ought particularly to regulate his Conduct.
* Going on to the right Hand, on the other Side of 'the Gate-way, are four Figures, viz. the School-mnsler, 'the Lazvyer, the Physician, and the Divine. These are
* ranged along the Outside of the. Library, and repre«j
* See Dr. Slukcky's Itinerarium Curiosum, p. 42.
.f This Piece is intituled Oedipus Magdaltnenjis: Explicatio vix. Jniagimim, & Figurerum, qua apud Magdalenenses in interiori ColUgii ^hadrangulo Tit>kini6us impojitæ visuntur. It was written by Mr. frilliam Reeks, sometime fellow of this College, at the Request of Dr. Clark, who was President from the Year 1671, to 1687, aud to whom it is inscribed. It is divided into two Parts. In the,sirst, the general Doctrine of Hieroglyphics is very learnedly discussed In the latter, he descends to a particular Consideration of the Hieroglyphic* at Magdalen j aud from this Part the Account here given is extracted.
D 3 sent