« PreviousContinue »
and of which we have given some account at the com· mencement of the present route. Horshain, Sussex, La. vington, Wilts. HosPITALS. Whittington's College. Lavington, Wilts. Stepney, Middlesex.
Stepney, Middlesex. Trinity Hospital, Greenwichi. LECTURES. St. Michael, Crooked Lane; St. Antholin; St. Bartholomew, Exchange; Grantham, Lincolnshire; Wakefield, Yorkshire; Huntingdon; Mercer's chapel, every Sunday afternoon from Advent to Easter; Gresham College; St. Michael Royal; and the Mercer's chapel two anniversary sermons, on the 30th of January, and 29th of May. ExHiBITIONS. Four for any university or college; eight for scholars at Trinity College, Cam, bridge; ten for scholars of any colleges in Oxford or Cambridge.
Their distributions for charitable purposes amount to upwards of 3000l!
From Mercer's Hall a few houses terminates at the Old Jewry,
THE END OF THE SEVENTH Route.
From Cheapside down Friday Street, to Distaff Lane, Old
Changé, Old Fish Strect, Labour-in-Vain Hill, Thames Street, Bennet's llill, Knight Rider Street, Black Friars, Ludgate Street, St. Paul's Church Yard, Cheapside to Friday Street.
HAVING travelled in the seventh Route a vast tract of
ground on the northern side of the city, to preserve the order in which we set out in travelling by districts, we commence at
Friday STREET, which was so called on account of the day being appointed for fasting, and being near the antient fish market, it was inhabited by fishmongers, to serve the Friday's markets. It is at present a most respectable street,
and is the residence of eminent merchants. It has also three very good inns, the Saracen's Head, the Bell, and the White Horse.
In this street stood three houses belonging to three monasteries; one let to Robert Harding, goldsmith, and sheriff of London, in the ninth of Edward IV. by dame Alice Ashfield, prioress of St. Helen's, for five marks yearly; another belonging to the priory of St. Mary Overy, Southwark; and a third belonged to the dean and chapter of St. Paul's cathedral.
On the west side of the street is situated the parish church of
IT is not certain who was the founder of this church; but it was in the patronage of the abbot and convent of Westminster in 1322.
Sir Nicholas Twyford, lord mayor in 1389, gave to the church a house with all its appurtenances, called the Griffin on the Hope, in Friday Street.
King Henry VIII. having dissolved the convent, and made St. Peter's at Westminster a bishop's see, his majesty gave this church to the bishop of Westminster. King Ed. ward VI. dissolved that bishopric, and translated the living of St. Matthew to the bishop of London ; in whom the advowson still continues.
It was burnt down in 1666, and by that means made pa. rochial for this and the parish of St. Peter, Westcheap, Vol. III. No. 68.
which which is annexed to ii by act of parliament. The front of the church towards the street is a plain stone building, with a series of large arched windows. The walls of the church and tower are brick, the window and door-cases stone. The church has but two ailes, with neither pillar, nor any entablature, being void of all ornament, and incumbered by houses.
The inside is adorned with a gallery at the west end, having a neat front, a pulpit finely carved, with enrich. ments of arches, shields, vases, a crown, festoons, &c. coated with oak; and the three door-cases, the pews, and altar piece are of the same species of timber.
The length is sixty feet, breadth thirty-three, altitude thirty-one, and the tower seventy-four feet.
On a table on the south side of the church is the following inscription :
Built at the Public Charge. Pewed at the Charge of both parishes. James Smith, Esq. gave the Altar-piece, Table, and Rails. Mr. Edward Clark, and Mr. Thomas Sanford, gavę The Front of the Gallery and Queen's Arms there. Mr. Miles Martin, and Capt. John Shipton, gave the two Branches and Irons. Mr. John Prat, a worthy Benefactor.
Stow mentions the following persons of eminence buried here:
Robert Johnson, goldsmith, alderman.
Rectors. EDWARD VAUGHAN, L. L. D. treasurer of St. Paul's, and afterwards bishop of St. David's, 1509. Henry MASON, B.D. prebendary of St. Paul's, and afterwards rector of St. Andrew Undershaft, where he continued in a very exemplary manner, as a popular preacher, till the adversity of the times compelled his resignation in 1641. He afterwards retired to his native place, Wigan in Lancashire, where he lived in great obscurity; but the vexa. tion of the rebels and other misfortunes shortened his life. He died in 1647. His successor in this living was LEWIS 2
BAYLY, D.D. afterwards bishop of Bangor, and author of “ The Practice of Piety." He died in 1632. FRANCIS JAMES, D.D. an esteemed Latin poet; be published in 1612, “ Threnodia Henricianarum Erequiarum; sive Panolethria Anglicana, &c.” He was succeeded by the factious Henry Burton. This man, “ because he could not arrive at such a height of preferment in the church as he as; ired to, conceived an implacable hatred against the church itself. He wrote and preached against the hierarchy, and the administration, with all the spleen of disappointed ambition; and was jointly concerned in a seditious and schismatical libel with Prynne and Bastwick. The punishment of these men, who were of the three great professions of divinity, law, and physic, was ignominious and severe; they were pilloried, fined, and banished to the islands of Guernsey, Jersey, and Scilly. Though they were never objects of esteem, they soon became objects of pity. The indignity and the severity of their punishment gave general offence; and they were no longer regarded as criminals, but confessors *." He afterwards turned an Independent preacher. When he was displaced from this church for his sedition, the rectory was supplied by a worthy divine, named Robert CHESTLEN, A. M. whose sufferings were unprovoked and cruel. It seems that when faction assumed a predominance, and the above seditious triumvirate, were idolized by the interested and the rabble, it was a grand point to be gained in restoring Burton to this rectory by the expulsion of Mr. Chestlen; for this purpose, by litigious molestations, though he was not the immediate successor of Burton, the republican part of the parish endeavoured to weary him out; they began by denying him tythes, and other levitical dues; upon this the rector petitioned the lord mayor ; for at this time all ec. clesiastical authority had been set aside, and ali disputes between the incumbent and his parish, were to be settled, in pursuance of an act of parliament lately passed, by . that magistrate. It happened that the chief magistral was
Sir Edmund Wright, a gentleman of probity and under. standing. Before the hearing commenced, Isaac Pennington, a rebellious alderman, no way interested in the cause, appeared, to give countenance to the unchristian acts of the parishioners, and to abuse their rector, which he did in the coarsest manner, calling him Saucy Jack, Brazen-faced fellow, and ultimately endeavoured to intimidate the lord mayor from the due execution of justice; Sir Edmund, however, spurning such infamous threats as were levelled against him, indignantly replied, “ What! shall I be afraid to do justice?" and upon a full investigation, decreed in favour of the rector. Tillat, a linen-draper, refused to obey the decree, and the limited time having expired, the Jord mayor, agreeably to the power given him by the stat. Hen. VIII. committed Tillat to prison, without bail or mainprize, until he submitted to the sentence, as the statute enacted. But to evince the integrity of those who pretended to maintain the law of the land, two members of the house of commons, pretending to derive their authority from the whole house, went to Newgate and liberated Tillat. The schismatic then joined their purses to procure an action of ejectment against Mr. Chestlen; but they failed in this attempt to oppress a worthy man. They then slandered him as a Papist and Arminian ; this so far operated that he was openly insulted in the streets; his other parishioners were dissuaded from attending his lectures, and those who did attend were branded as Malignants, and assessed in the parish rates in the most arbitrary manner. Libels and threatening letters were then thrown into Mr. Chestlen's house, and distributed in the pews of the church; and he was irritated for the purpose of extorting expres. sions against government, so that an accusation might be framed against him. All these varieties of malignity failing, the schismatics went from house to house, and having by threats and hypocrisy got various signatures to a peti. tion against him, it was presented to the House of Commons in March 1641 ; but though the petition was presented and supported by Pennington and his associates, it