Page images
PDF
EPUB

Here was the residence of the antient earls of Norfolk. Hugh Bygod, in 43 Henry III. was constable of the Tower, and constituted justiciary of England by the barons. In the forty-seventh of the same king he was one of the barons who sided with Montfort, earl of Leicester, and was also a pledge for the provisions of Oxford. He afterwards changed sides, and was in the king's army at the battle of Lewes, where he fled, and his estates were seized by the victorious barons. At the prosperous change of the king's circumstances, he returned to England; but it is not known where he died. In the eleventh of Edward II. this house was possessed by Thomas de Brotherton, brother to the king, the estates of the Bygods having reverted to the .crown in failure of heirs. It was next possessed by Margaret de Brotherton, his daughter, who having married John, lord Segrave, their issue was Elizabeth, married to John, lord Moubray, who, in her right assumed all these and her other possessions, which he transmitted to the family of Howard, dukes of Norfolk.

This mansion being deserted by its noble owners, was converted to the city brewhouse; the anticnt ball was standing in Stow's time. In the year 1595, an engine of vast height was built here by a gentleman named Bevis Bulmar, for the purpose of forcing and conveying Thames water to serve the middle and western parts of the city. It was also capacious enough to be part of the mansion of that opulent and benevolent citizen Thomas Sutton, Esq. founder of the Charter-house Hospital, and author of num. berless other good deeds.

Opposite Broken Wharf is the parish church of

ST.

ST. MARY SOMER's HYTHE, CORRUPTLY SOMERSET,

THE building was called Somer's Hythe, from a wharf belonging to an antient owner of that name.

The patronage of this church, was in Sir John de Peyton, who presented to it in 1335. It was afterwards in the family of De Bradeston ; and though it appears to kave been for several turns in the crown, the reason was, that Thomas de Bradeston died in the thirty-fourth year of the reign of Edward III. leaving Thomas, his grandson, a minor, who was for several years a ward of the crown. His daughter Elizabeth being also left a minor at eight months old, was afterwards married to Walter de la Pole, who, in right of his wife, became patron. It passed afterwards to his cousin Thomas Ingaldsthorp, and continued in that family till it devolved on an heiress who married Sir William Norris, who presented in 1478. It is now in the gift of a lay patron, who alternately presents with the bishop of Hereford.

The old structure was repaired in 1624; but that being demolished by the conflagration, in 1666, was again erected and finished February the 16th, 1695.

The

The church and tower are built of stone, with which it is also paved, having two aisles; the roof within is flat, adorned with a cornice, and between the windows with fretwork of cherubims, &c. It is finely wainscoted with oak about ten feet high; it has a neat wainscot gallery at the west end, supported by four stone columns, of the Tuscan order. There are also two spacious inner door-cases and handsome pews; the pulpit is enriched with cherubims, and the sound board veneered.

The altar-piece is adorned with four pilasters, entablature, and compass pediment, of the Corinthian order. The inter-columns are the decalogue, &c. placed under five cherubims and palm branches, &c. gilt with gold. Above the cornice and under the pediment, is a glory in form of an equilateral triangic, surrounded with painted cherubims. Without the columns are the Lord's Prayer and Creed, done in gold letters on blue; and in the east window is painted the arms of England; and the foot-pace of the communion table is black and white marble; at the west end is a neat marble font, adorned with cherubims, and the top is carvod wainscot.

The tower is square, well proportioned, and high, crowned at cach corner with very handsome vases on pedestals, between which are four tall pyramidal columns.

The dimensions are, length eighty-thrse feet, breadth thirty-six, altitude thirty, and that of the tower (to the top of the highest pinnacles) about one hundred and twenty feet.,

There are no monuments worthy notice. Within the altar rails is a black marble grave stone, thus inscribed :

H. S. E. Reverendum admodum in Christo Pater, Gilbertus Ironside, S. T. P. Col. Wadhamensis in Acad. Oxon Guardianus, ejusdem Acad. Vice Canc. primo consecratus Bristol. Episcop. postca translatus ad Episcopat. Hereford.

Obiit 27 August 1701. Ætat, suæ 69.

Near Trig Lane is Boss ALLEY, so called from a boss or water course, similar to that at Billingsgate, placed here by the executors of that general benefactor, Sir Richard White tington.

Here

Here also stood the city mansion of the abbots of Cherttry, in Surrey; it afterwards became the residence of Sir William, afterwards lord Sandys. This nobleman served in the wars of Flanders, and had afterwards a share in the victory obtained over Lord Audley and the rebels, at Blackheath, during the reign of Henry VII. By his marriage with the heiress of Bray, he greatly increased his inheritance, as he did also by part of the forfeited lands of Ed. Ward, duke of Buckingham. He was treasurer of Calais, knight of the Garter, and had a principal command in the army in France, during the reign of Henry VIII. This lord is represented by Shakespeare in his Henry VIII. as a sort of antiquated beau ; for what reason we cannot ascer. tain,

LAMBERT Hill. Here is situated a handsome, but much neglected structure, formerly appropriated as

BLACKSMITH'S HALL. It is a very good brick building, with very convenient and stately apartments; but from whatever cause, it has been deserted by the company, has not been ascertained. The whole has been devoted to purposes very different from its original designation, and it exhibits a melancholy picture of injurious treatment to a most respectable edifice.

The BLACKSMITH'S COMPANY. This corporation was antiently a guild or fraternity by prescription, in which state it continued till the reign of queen Elizabeth, in the year 1571, when the company obtained a charter of incorporation, by the name of “ The Keepers or Wardens and Society of the Art and Mystery de les Blacksmiths.”

This company is governed by a master, wardens, and court of assistants. It is the fortieth on the city list.

Adjoining this hall is a plot of ground with a brick wall, which comprised an antient donation to the parish of St. Mary Magdalen, Old Fish Street, by John Iwarby, an officer in the receipt of the Exchequer, in the 26th of Henry VI. He gave this “ piece of land lying void, between the tenement of John Philpot, on the south, and the tenement of Bartholomew Burwasb, on the west, the tes nement pertaining to the convent of the Holy Well on the north ; and the way upon Lambert Hill, on the east, for a church-yard to the parson, churchwardens, &c.”

tenement

Returning to Thames Street, and proceeding westward, we arrive at the site of the parish church of ST. PETER THE LITTLE, OR ST. PETER, PAUL's

WHARF. THIS was so called on account of being a small edifice; but it is of antient foundation, as appears by its being no. ticed in 1181, when it is stated to have belonged to the canons of St. Paul's cathedral, who received a rent of 12d. by the hands of Radulphus the priest ; that it paid for synodals 4d, and to the archdeacon 12d. but had no cemetery.

Here occurred a circumstance rather extraordinary, considering the time; it was famons for many years during the Usurpation, for the exercise of the Liturgy of the church of England, and the dispensation of the sacrament according to that liturgy; which was suffered to proceed with such little interruption, that many of the nobility and gentry resorted to the Divine service, and the galleries for their accommodation was richly hung with Turkey car

pets, &c. *

On St. Peter's church having been destroyed by the fire, the ground on which it stood was converted to a burial place, and the parish united to that of St. Bennet, Paul's Wharf.

On St. Peter's Hill are situated six almshouses for poor widows, founded by David Smith, embroiderer to queen Elizabeth, and called Embroiderer's Almshouses; after the fire of London they were rebuilt by Sir Thomas Fitch, knight and baronet, formerly a bricklayer.

On the east side of this lane stood the mansion of the ab. bots of St. Mary, York. It afterwards came into the possession of Sir Michael Hicks, knight, secretary to lord treasurer Burleigh, and was for a long time the property of that family.

Newcourt.

Opposite

« PreviousContinue »