Page images

Baptism : In the 3d, the Jewish Passover ; and over it, the Institution of the Lord's Supper: In the 4th, the Elevation of the Brazen Serpent in the Wilderness; and over it, our Saviour's Crucifixion: In the 5th, Jonas delivered out of the Whale's Belly; and over it, our Saviour's Resurrection: In the 6th, Elijah going to Heaven in the fiery Chariot; and over it, our Saviour's Ascension,

The Ceiling, which is of cedar, is embellished with the Arms of the Founders and the principal Benefactors; intermixed with cherubim, palm-branches, festoons, &c. beautifully painted and gilt.

The Chapel was built in 1630, by Dr. John Wil. liams, at that time Bishop of Lincoln, and afterwards Archbishop of York; of whom memorials are to be seen in several places.

This college was first founded by Richard Flem. ming, who was born of a good family in Yorkshire. He was educated in this Univerfity,

of which he was two years Proctor ; being then Fellow of University College. In 1420, he was made Bishop of Lincoln by King Henry V. and died in 1431. He obtained the charter of incorporation of King Henry VI. in the fixth year of his reign; and in 1429 established a college, consisting of a Rector and seven Fellows, to whom he appropriated ftipends.

In the year 1478, Thomas Scott, alias Rotherham, then Bishop of Lincoln, considering the imperfect state of this Foundation, obtained a new charter 'of King Edward IV. by virtue ,whereof, he added five other Fellowships to the seven before founded, annexed to the college two Rectories, and gave them a body of statutes, in which he limits the choice of the Fellows to the dioceses of Lincoln and York, all except one, whom he would have to be of the diocese of Wells.


But a greater Benefactor to this college was the Right Honourable Nathaniel Lord Crewe, late Bihop of Durham, who being present in the year 1717, after contributing liberally to the buildings which were then carrying on at Christ Church, Queen's, Worcester, and All-Souls Colleges, and to the finishing of All-Saints Church, settled by way of a rent-charge, free from all deductions ** whatfoever, issuing out of his manors in Northuin berland and Durham, twelve Exhibitions of 20l. per annum each, for Commoners of this college, whom 3 he would have to be the fons of Gentlemen, and *hi made a considerable augmentation to the annual ftipends of the Rector, Fellows, Scholars, Bibles. Clerk, and the Chaplains of the four appropriated Churches.

The last Benefactor was the late Dr. Hutchins, who had been many years Rector,'and who' augmented the incomes of the Scholars and Exhibitioners. + The members of this college are usually between forty and fifty.

Visítor. The Bishop of Lincoln.



RIEL College is situated between St. Mary's

Church on the north, Corpus Christi College on the south, and Christ Church on the west;'* ?. the entrance is, on the west. It chiefly consists of one regular, uniform and well-built quadrangle. On the north Ride whercof are the Provost's Lodgings, on the east the Hall, and the entrance into the Chapel, which runs eastward from thence; and on the south and west fides are the chambers of the Fellows and other Students.


Opposite to the great gate we ascend by a large flight of steps, having a portico over them, to the Hall; which is a well-proportioned room, handsomely wainscotted, with a Doric entablature, and adorned with three whole-length Portraits, viz. in the middle, at the upper end, a very fine one of King Edward II. enthroned with his Regalia, by Hudson; on his right hand, that of Queen Anne, by Dahl; and on his left, one of the late Duke of Beaufort, in his Parti liament-robes, having'a Negro Servant bearing his Coronet, by Soldi.

The Chapel has that beauty which is derived from a decent fimplicity: The large east window, the Wise Men offering, was painted by Mr. Peckett, from a design by the late Dr. Wall.

Through a passage on the north side, we enter the Garden Court, at the end of which is an elegant building, intended for the College Library, in which also will be placed the late Lord Leigh's Library, given to the Society. On 'either hand is a wing of a new building, in a style conformable to the quadrangle. That on the right was built at the expenfe of Dr. Robinson, Bishop of London ; and that on the left by Dr. Carter, late Provoft.

This College was founded by King Edward II. on Petition of Adam de Brome, hiş Almoner, anno 1324, who was the first Provost. King Edward III. gave the large messuage of Le Oriel, fatuate in St. John's parish, by which name the College was afterwards called, and from whence it has been frequently held to be a royal foundation. He likewise gave the Hospital of St. Bartholomew, near Oxford, with the lands thereunto belonging.

Other Benefactors were, John Frank, Master of the Rolls in the reign of Henry VI. who gave 1000l . to this College to purchase lands for the maintenance



[ocr errors]

of four Fellows; John Carpenter, formerly Provost, and afterwards Bishop of Worcester; William Smith, Bishop of Lincoln; and Dr. Richard Dudley, fometime Fellow, and afterwards Chancellor of the church of Sarum, who gave the College the manor of Swainswick in Somersetshire, for the maintenance of two Fellows and fix Exhibitioners, Dr. John Tolfon, who was Provost in 1:40, gave 1150l, toward the buildings of the quadrangle, besides other confiderable donations. Queen Anne annexed a Prebend of Rochester to the Provoftthip for ever. Dr. Ro, binson, Bishop of London, beilles the new building, gave 2500l. to augment the Fellowships, and to found three Exhibitions. Dr. Carter not only left money for the erection of the opposite wing, but also for the purchase of livings for the benefit of the Provoft and Fellows, And the late Duke of Beaufort gave 100l. per annum for four Exhibitiopers.

The present members are, a Provost, eighteen Fellows, and thirteen Exhibitioners; the whole number of Students about 180...

Vifitot. The Lord Chancellor.


[ocr errors][merged small]


CORPUS-CHRISTI College stands between

Chrift-Church on the west, Merton College on the east, and Oriel College on the north; confifting of one quadrangle, an elegant pile of modern buildings, erected in 1706 by Dr. Turner, who was President of the College, in which are pleasant and commodious rooms which look into Merton and: Christ-Church Meadows, and à Cloyster adjoining; also a neat ftructure which looks' eastwards, towards Merton College Grove, which are the apartments appro


priated to Gentlemen. Cominoners, whose number the Founder has confined to fix.

On the east side of the quadrangle is the Hall, which is 50 feet long, and 25 broad, and of a proportionable height, with beautiful Gothic rafters.

The Cylindrical Dial in the quadrangle is set at right angles with the horizon, the common sections whereof,

with the Hour Circles, except the Meridian Circle that divides it by the Axis, as also the Equinoctial, are all Ellipses, and is a fine old piece of Gnomonics. On the Column is a perpetual Kalendar.

The Chapel is 70 feet in length, and 25 inz breadth: the Altar-piece and Screen are of cedar.

The Library is well furnished with books, particularly a large collection of Tracts from the Refors mation to the Revolution; about 300 MSS ; an English Bible, supposed to be older than Wickliffe's; a Parchment Roll containing the pedigree of the Royal Family, and the feveral branches of it, from King Alfred to King Edward VI. with their Arms blazoned, figned by the King at Arms; and several other Curiosities, particularly an ancient Manuscript History of the Bible in French, finely decorated with curious Painting, given by General Oglethorpe, who was a member of this College; and also a very valuable collection of the first editions of the Classics.

They fhew here also the genuine Crofier of the Founder, a piece of curious workmanship, little impaired by time.

This College was founded in the year 1516, by Dr. Richard Fox, a native of Ropesley, near Grantham in Lincolnshire, who was successively Bishop of the fees of Exeter, Bath and Wells, Durham and Winchester, and was likewise Lord Privy Seal to King Henry VII. and Henry VIII. He first in

D 2


« PreviousContinue »