« PreviousContinue »
Sulby is situated in the Hundred of Rothwell, about two miles southeast from Welford, and near the source of the river Avon. The House is a stone building, erected about the year 1795, by the grandfather of the present proprietor, after a design of John Soane, Esq. R. A. The interior arrangement certainly evinces considerable taste, though on rather a small scale. The Library, Dining-room, and Drawing-room, are ornamented with a most pleasing collection of Pictures.
In the Grounds is a handsome piece of water, over which is a stone bridge.
Sulby Abbey was situated at a short distance from this Mansion. Its site is now occupied by farming buildings, and is the property of Lord Willoughby de Broke.
The celebrated Field of Naseby is also within sight. In the decisive battle between King Charles I. and Oliver Cromwell fought here, on June 14, 104.3, about eighteen hundred, including both sides, are supposed to have been killed.
A few years since, in making some additions to the offices, the workmen discovered, not more than a foot below the surface of the soil, a large collection of human bones in a perfect state of preservation: the skulls in particular were quite sound, and the jaws full of teeth. From the various positions in which these remains lay, it is conjectured that they were the bones of some of those who fell in the pursuit after the battle. The ground was only disturbed as far as was necessary for the intended buildings, and in that- space nothing was found which would lead to any information beyond the above very probable conjecture.
Jltft of t|jc principal Jpictureg at &ult>n.
Landscape, with Cattle and Figures passing a River—Van Goyen.
Boors at Backgammon—Tenters.
Ditto, with Cattle—Gainsborough.
A Dutch Wedding Feast—Molinaer.
A Landscape—Huysdael: the Figures—Ostade.
Returning from Hawking—P. Wowermam.
Interior of a Kitchen, an Old Woman peeling Onions: Game, Wild Fowl, and Vegetables displayed. This picture is most highly finished, and in excellent preservation—Tenters.
Drunken Women—Jon Steen.
Public House Door, with strolling Musicians —Bega.
A Lady and Gentleman in the Spanish Cos
tume, with their Family; some dancing, others singing, and playing on musical instruments—Philip Vandyck.
N. B. These have been called portraits of the artist, his wife, and family.
Christ and the Woman of Samaria—Van Harp, after Caracci.
A Village Apothecary dressing the Foot of a Boor—Teniers.
A Woman Spinning, and an Old Man winding Worsted—Ditto.
Moonlight: Figures, Horses, and Sheep on the Banks of a River—Ditto.
A View on the Rhine—Griffier.
A Mountebank at a Village Fair—Mclinaer.
f^etodl Grange, W&otmttxxfyxt;
TILE SEAT OF
OTHER ARCHER WINDSOR,
EARL OF PLYMOUTH.
1JEweix Grange, the principal Seat of the Right Honorable the Earl of Plymouth, is situated three miles from Bromsgrove, in the Parish of Tatdebigg.orTarbeek, as it is called in many old deeds and papers, which is partly in Alcester division of Barlichway Hundred in Warwickshire; but the chief part of the parish is in Halfshire Hundred of Worcestershire; at the time of compiling Domesday the whole was iu the County of Worcester.
A considerable part of this Parish was given by the Empress Maud, daughter of King Henry I., to the Abbey of Bordesley, and it continued a portion of the estates of that Monastery until the dissolution, when it became the property of the Windsor family by exchange.
The Mansion itself is singularly divided between the counties, the northern part being in Warwickshire and the southern in Worcestershire. It is a large building, nearly quadrangular, adorned with Doric pilasters supporting their entablature, and surmounted by a balustrade. The north-west front is one hundred and nine feet six inches in length; and the north-east, which faces a beautiful Lake covering thirty acres, is one hundred and twenty-seven feet six inches. It was built about 1712, but greatly improved and furnished in 1758: a collection of family and other portraits by Sir Peter Lely, Sir Godfrey Kneller, &c. &c. adorn the walls of the principal apartments, which are spacious and elegant. The Park is large, and admits of the greatest variety of landscape, from the undulating form of the ground, which rises in gently swelling hills covered with plantations, abounding with fine old oaks.
The ancient and honorable Family of Windsor are descended from Walter Fitz Other, who at the time of the General Survey, held several manors in the counties of Southampton, Berks, Bucks, and Middlesex, and is the common ancestor of the noble and ancient houses of Windsor, Carew, Grace, Fitzmaurice, Gerard, Fitzgerald, Mackenzie, and Fitzgibbon. William, his eldest son, being Warden of Windsor Castle, assumed the name of Windsor. His sou, William de Windsor, procured from Henry IT. a confirmation of all the lands which had belonged to